• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Alastair Cook - Will he break all the England records?

Captain_Cook

U19 12th Man
Hey all, this is my first big post. As you can tell I'm a big Cook fan, so I think it's appropriate that my first thread has him as the subject.

In the context of his career, I think we are at a turning point. Cook's lack of pushing on in the current Ashes series has worried me. I think his career can turn in two directions: breaking all the records or a slow fade into obscurity during his supposed batting prime.

Anyways, concerning his batting:

• Do you think Cook will achieve more than 10,000 runs for England?
  • Do you think Cook will achieve an average of 50+?
  • Do you think Cook will achieve 35+ centuries?
  • Do you think he will surpass Sunil Gavaskar as the "greatest" opening batsman in terms of numbers?
  • Do you think he will play well enough to surpass Border's consecutive test appearances record?
While his captaincy has been skittish and overly defensive while I have been watching cricket, does anyone think he can challenge the 16 consecutive won tests record?

I look forward to your answers!

GIMH

Norwood's on Fire
I think he'll pass10k runs and 35 tons. I think we'll rest him somewhere along the line so he won't break Border's.

I think his average will likely stay around the 48-49.5 mark.