• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

2019/20 New Zealand First-Class Season Draft (Division 1)


Cricketer Of The Year
Exempt via their placing last season, if they elect to play again:
Chewie, Kippax, Howsie.

Three spots in Division 1 are open to prompt entries. If there's an overflow of two or more, I'll start a Division 2 thread.

Test matches: England (2, late Nov), Australia away (3, Dec-Jan), India (2, late Feb)
Plunket Shield: Oct-Nov (3), Feb-Mar (5)
NZA: India A in Jan-Feb (2)

Note: The Raval/Wagner type of player available for the early Plunket Shield rounds (Rd. 2 and Rd. 3 will clash with a NZ vs. England T20 series), the March Plunket Shield rounds (clashing with ODIs and T20Is vs. Australia), also players chosen for the two matches against India A, have an advantage from a scheduling point of view. Only a player's highest eight points hauls of the season will count towards his total.

Only five of your first XI draftees (six including the 12th man, who comes in for injuries) can score more bowling points in the season than batting points. Otherwise, infringing players on your team will go to zero.

Anyone you bat at No. 9-11 scoring more batting points in the season than bowling points, infringing players on your team will go to zero.

Your designated wicket-keeper will only score non-WK fielding points if he's making way for a gloveman with Test caps (Seifert for Watling, but not Phillips for Horne, etc.)

Ratio'd Spud Drafted player with the worst ratio of points to games played -100 points

King of the Openers Drafted player to score the most runs as an opener 200 bonus points

Non-Ravindra Emerging Player Excluding Rachin Ravindra, the highest points tally for a drafted player born 1997 or later 200 bonus points
Eligible would be Allen, Bhula, Chu, Clarkson, Fisher, Foxcroft, Z. Gibson, Leopard, Ludick, Murray, D. Phillips, Sears, Sheat, Smith, etc.

Team PPG Award Drafted team with the highest points per game played: 500 bonus points

Each Run Scored: 1 point
Duck: -10 points

Wicket of a 1-5 bat: 30 points
Wicket of a 6-7: 25 points
Wicket of an 8-11: 15 points
Innings bowling average 20 or under: 10 Points (min. 5 overs)
Bowling economy rate 4 or above: -10 Points (min. 5 overs, bowling average must be above 30)

Per catch 10 points
Per WK catch 8 points
Per run out 10 points
Per stumping 10 points

NZC Contracted Players - 2019/20

Astle, Todd | Canterbury
Blundell, Tom | Wellington *
Boult, Trent | Northern Districts
de Grandhomme, Colin | Northern Districts
Ferguson, Lockie | Auckland
Guptill, Martin | Auckland
Henry, Matt | Canterbury
Latham, Tom | Canterbury
Munro, Colin | Auckland
Neesham, James | Wellington
Nicholls, Henry | Canterbury
Raval, Jeet | Auckland
Santner, Mitchell | Northern Districts
Sodhi, Ish | Northern Districts
Southee, Tim | Northern Districts
Taylor, Ross | Central Districts
Wagner, Neil | Northern Districts
Watling, BJ | Northern Districts
Williamson, Kane | Northern Districts
Young, Will | Central Districts *

* New to NZC contract list


Allen, Finn
Anderson, Corey **
Beghin, Graeme
Brown, Jamie
Cachopa, Craig
Chapman, Mark
Delport, Louis *
Ferns, Danru
Horne, Ben
Jamieson, Kyle **
Lister, Ben
McEwan, Matt
O’Donnell, Robert
Phillips, Glenn
Solia, Sean
Somerville, Will


Bowes, Chad
Boyle, Jack
Carter, Leo
Coburn, Blake
Ellis, Andrew
Fletcher, Cameron
Hazeldine, Andrew
Latham, Jackson *
McClure, Ken
McConchie, Cole
Murdoch, Stephen
Nuttall, Ed
Sheat, Fraser
Shipley, Henry
Williams, Will
van Woerkom, Theo

Central Districts

Bracewell, Doug
Bruce, Tom
Clarkson, Josh
Cleaver, Dane
Hay, Greg
Leopard, Christian
Ludick, Willem
Milne, Adam
Noema-Barnett, Kieran
Patel, Ajaz
Rance, Seth
Small, Bevan
Smith, Ben
Tickner, Blair
Wheeler, Ben
Worker, George

Northern Districts

Baker, James
Bocock, Peter
Brownlie, Dean
Carter, Joe
Cooper, Henry
Devcich, Anton
Fisher, Matthew
Flynn, Daniel
Gibson, Zak
Hampton, Brett
Kuggeleijn, Scott
Mitchell, Daryl
Popli, Bharat
Randell, Brett
Seifert, Tim
Walker, Joe


Bacon, Matt
Broom, Neil
Chu, Max *
Craig, Mark
Duffy, Jacob
Finnie, Josh
Foxcroft, Dean */**
Hawkins, Cam *
Kelly, Nick **
Kitchen, Anaru
Phillips, Dale *
Rae, Michael
Renwick, Mitch
Rippon, Michael
Rutherford, Hamish
Smith, Nathan


Bennett, Hamish
Bhula, Jakob *
Bracewell, Michael
Colson, Fraser
Conway, Devon
Fletcher, Andrew
Gibson, Jamie
Johns, Lauchie
McPeake, Iain
Newton, Ollie
Nofal, Malcolm
Patel, Jeetan
Ravindra, Rachin
Sears, Ben
van Beek, Logan
Younghusband, Peter

* new to domestic contract ** moved major association team
Last edited:


International Regular
When are we planning on starting this? I'm away from the 21st - 25th September and 20 October - 17 November and probably won't have time to check in regularly in that period


Cricketer Of The Year
Hmm I'd say everyone would want the reigning champ to be one of those they bettered as they claimed the title, so we may start drafting as late as the 26th. Unless let's say half of the others who've now committed feel differently about it and just want to get on with it.

I don't think it'll be a problem in terms of us running up against the season's first games. We got all twelve rounds of drafting completed over the course of ten days last year.


International Regular
sorry busy at work since i've been away and haven't had chance to look at thread. will pick in a bit (had Wagner in mind...)