• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Baggy Green ball tampering: Bancroft, Smith and the Aussie "Leadership Group"

social

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend
There's a clause in their contracts pertaining to bringing the game into disrepute

I'm no lawyer but I'd hazard a guess as to CA saying:

a. for the ball tampering, you get the ICC penalty; and

b. for bringing the game into disrepute, cop this

Quite how Warner fits into this when he hasnt been charged by the ICC is anyone's guess

Last edited:

harsh.ag

Warner could be dropped for a while for going "above the captain", so to speak. But I don't think that should be part of the official punishment.

social

In any event, I assume that CA are well within their rights simply not to pick them for however long so players probably havent got a leg to stand on whichever way it goes

cnerd123

likes this
Just like what the ICC hit Rabada with was iron clad. I would be staggered if there wasn't some sort of internal appeals process, and I doubt that CA could legally deny some external ones either. And it would be very easy to argue that lengthy suspension isn't appropriate.

I feel like some of you just want to see him banned without respect to the offence.
The ICC's is a lot less ironclad because, to my understanding, no cricketers have a legally binding contract with the ICC.