• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Bat cracks from knocking in

davchap101

Cricket Spectator
Hi all,

I’ve recently bought a new bat (cheap Kookuburra from sports direct).

I’m totally new to cricket and have never owned a bat before but knew I needed to knock it in. I watched a few videos and felt like I had a good idea of how to tackle it, but during the process a few cracks have started to appear, going against the grain.

The bat already has an armour tech facing on it so I assumed that meant it had been oiled, but should I have tried to oil it from the back first? Am I just hitting it too hard too quickly?

Any advice on this and how to proceed from here much appreciated.

Attachments

smash84

The Tiger King
I was browsing the forum quickly and for a moment read the word "bat" in the thread name as "butt"

Riaan

Cricket Spectator