• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Cook: Yes or no?

Should Alastair Cook remain England's ODI captain?

• Yes

Votes: 4 23.5%
  • No

Votes: 13 76.5%

• Total voters

WalkingWicket

State 12th Man
We all know that Alastair Cook has been under significant flak from both the fans and the media in regards to continuing on as England's ODI captain, but I want to know the forum's opinions.

I used to be a big Cook fan - but since he demonstrated that he's an outdated player and captain in a very rapidly changing ODI game, incapable of leading or scoring runs, I turned against him somewhat. He's decent enough in Tests, how he turned around the Test Series against India was impressive, but with the World Cup coming round, I think it's the last chance (and a chance we should definitely take) to replace him with someone who knows what they're doing: Morgan is my pick.

Adders

Cricketer Of The Year
I think given the way he turned around the test series and managed to scratch a few runs together himself I'm not dead against allowing him the same opportunity with the ODI team.

Cook is a very good ODI batsmen, when he came back into the team in 2010 as skip he had 3 very good years with the bat and we had reasonable success as a team. He is just horribly out of sorts as a batsmen and that seems to highlight his limitations as a captain. We saw in the tests once he starts scoring runs and England win all of a sudden his captaincy doesn't look so bad.