• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Leg spin bowling in club Twenty20

Captain_Cook

U19 12th Man
Hello all,

I am a newbie right arm leg break bowler who bowls pretty slow but spins the ball a lot. I can bowl leg breaks, top-spinners and a flipper with good accuracy and length.

I am considering joining my university third XI. However, they spend the winter doing indoor nets and the summer competing in Twenty20 matches. I am not entirely familiar with the place of leg spin in Twenty20 hence I have a few questions about it at club level:

• Are leg break bowler unfavourable in T20?
  • Do leg break bowlers need to bowl a different line and length in T20 to the standard delivery pitching good length at middle and off or pitch leg stump from round the wicket to a RHB?
  • What dismissal are leg break bowlers aiming to get? Caught? Caught behind? Stumped?
  • Is bowling like Kumble/Bernaud preferable to bowling like Warne/MacGill?

Maximas

Cricketer Of The Year
I'd say make good use of your variations - especially the topspinner - the extra bounce should get you catches on the boundary, the flipper will be handy for anyone trying to cut or come down the pitch at you, I'd say catches in the deep and stumpings are your best bet

Captain_Cook

U19 12th Man