Stats Spider South Africa in England 2012 (1st Test)

Main Home Country Home Players Records Matches

England v South Africa @ The Kia Oval, Kennington
19th, 20th, 21st, 22nd, 23rd July 2012

Toss: England (bat)
Umpires: Asad Rauf, SJ Davis
Third Umpire: HDPK Dharmasena
Match Referee: JJ Crowe
Match Result: South Africa won by an innings and 12 runs

1st Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
*1. Andrew Strausslbw b Morne Morkel042--
2. Alastair Cook b Dale Steyn115295392111
3. Jonathan Trottc AB de Villiers b Morne Morkel711622439-
4. Kevin Pietersenc AB de Villiers b Jacques Kallis4272974-
5. Ian Bell b Jacques Kallis1356962-
6. Ravi Boparac AB de Villiers b Dale Steyn068--
+7. Matt Priorc AB de Villiers b Morne Morkel60901469-
8. Tim Bresnan b Imran Tahir832481-
9. Stuart Broad b Vernon Philander1628392-
10. Graeme Swannnot out 1520293-
11. James Andersonc AB de Villiers b Morne Morkel244--

FOW 1-0 (Andrew Strauss), 2-170 (Jonathan Trott), 3-251 (Kevin Pietersen), 4-271 (Alastair Cook), 5-272 (Ravi Bopara), 6-284 (Ian Bell), 7-313 (Tim Bresnan), 8-358 (Stuart Broad), 9-383 (Matt Prior), 10-385 (James Anderson).
Extras 2b, 24lb, 3w, 14nb, 0pen) 43
Total (for 10 wickets, 125.5 ovs, 558 mins) 385

Bowling O M R W Extras
Morne Morkel24.52724 (2w,5nb)
Vernon Philander274791 (0w,7nb)
Dale Steyn307992 (0w,0nb)
Jacques Kallis197382 (1w,0nb)
Imran Tahir190611 (0w,2nb)
Jean-Paul Duminy61100 (0w,0nb)

2nd Innings

South Africa

    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
*1. Graeme Smith b Tim Bresnan13127336720-
2. Alviro Petersenlbw b James Anderson0811--
3. Hashim Amlanot out 31152979035-
4. Jacques Kallisnot out 182326434231
+5. AB de Villiers
6. Jacques Rudolph
7. Jean-Paul Duminy
8. Vernon Philander
9. Dale Steyn
10. Morne Morkel
11. Imran Tahir

FOW 1-1 (Alviro Petersen), 2-260 (Graeme Smith).
Extras 5b, 4lb, 2w, 2nb, 0pen) 13
Total (for 2 wickets, 189 ovs, 803 mins) 637

Bowling O M R W Extras
James Anderson4171161 (0w,1nb)
Stuart Broad3461180 (1w,0nb)
Graeme Swann52101510 (0w,0nb)
Tim Bresnan3721401 (0w,1nb)
Ravi Bopara181780 (1w,0nb)
Kevin Pietersen30130 (0w,0nb)
Jonathan Trott40120 (0w,0nb)

3rd Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
*1. Andrew Straussc Vernon Philander b Imran Tahir27801262-
2. Alastair Cookc AB de Villiers b Vernon Philander066--
3. Jonathan Trottc AB de Villiers b Dale Steyn1027411-
4. Kevin Pietersen b Morne Morkel1617363-
5. Ian Bellc Jacques Kallis b Dale Steyn552202856-
6. Ravi Bopara b Dale Steyn2255753-
+7. Matt Priorc Jacques Kallis b Imran Tahir40861415-
8. Tim Bresnannot out 2061912-
9. Stuart Broadc AB de Villiers b Dale Steyn0511--
10. Graeme Swannc Alviro Petersen b Dale Steyn79111-
11. James Andersonlbw b Imran Tahir424391-

FOW 1-2 (Alastair Cook), 2-32 (Jonathan Trott), 3-57 (Kevin Pietersen), 4-67 (Andrew Strauss), 5-117 (Ravi Bopara), 6-203 (Matt Prior), 7-210 (Ian Bell), 8-210 (Stuart Broad), 9-218 (Graeme Swann), 10-240 (James Anderson).
Extras 11b, 15lb, 1w, 12nb, 0pen) 39
Total (for 10 wickets, 97 ovs, 429 mins) 240

Bowling O M R W Extras
Morne Morkel160411 (1w,1nb)
Vernon Philander196291 (0w,1nb)
Dale Steyn216565 (0w,0nb)
Imran Tahir327633 (0w,6nb)
Jacques Kallis71220 (0w,0nb)
Jean-Paul Duminy2130 (0w,0nb)



Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Matt Prior, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson

South Africa:

Graeme Smith, Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Jacques Rudolph, Jean-Paul Duminy, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir