• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

What is the worst shot you have played in Cricket?

social

Request Your Custom Title Now!
Not a shot but worse if anything

By way of background. I was run out without facing a ball in my first A grade match and promptly received a bollocking from the captain for running ON HIS CALL.

Stood me in good stead as I was rarely run out needlessly until .......

About 30 years later, I joined a cricket tour in England made up of some very good players

As one of the guys was a former test cricketer, a match was arranged between us and the MCC at Lords

Having done no preparation whatsoever, I politely declined (i.e. **** off idiot) an invitation to bowl but went in at no. 3 having not picked up a bat in about 10 years

I went in at the end of an over and my partner proceeded to block/leave the first 5 balls of every over for 3 overs before running a single off the last ball

There am I thinking that a pattern has been set when he calls for a single off the first ball and in my shock, I ran with inevitable results (out by about 5 metres)

So there you have it, an "illustrious" career book-ended by being run out without facing a ball

I consoled myself with the thought that I had been robbed of a hundred at Lords
 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Mine are almost always the same - two types of dismissals. I have this weird habit of scoring either 9, or somewhere in the 40s.

When I make 9 I will have hit two nice boundaries and taken a single. I will try to work one to the leg side and be plum LBW. I dont know how many times I tell myself to play straight yet I continue to try and leg glance like Mark Waugh.

The second will happen in the 40s. I'll be thinking I'm on, will have got a couple of pull shots away (our colloquial club rule is not horizontal bat shots til you've made 30). The pull is my best shot. Then I will sky one from the pull and be caught somewhere in front of the wicket.

Both have happened so many times over the years you'd think i'd learn!
 

Daemon

Request Your Custom Title Now!
I've been out off a free hit. Was bowled and instinctively started walking and the ****ers pulled the stumps out.
 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Thought it was not out if you aren't attempting a run
 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Dean Jones, 1990-91, West Indies v Australia, 2nd Test, Guyana
The "run out" of Dean Jones was a cruel blow to Australia who faced a deficit of 221 runs. Jones was bowled by Courtney Walsh off a no-ball and, with the batsman unaware of the umpire's call, trudged back to the pavilion. Carl Hooper bounded in from slip, picked up the ball and threw down the middle stump and was promptly joined by all his team-mates who appealed for the run out. Despite his batting partner, Allan Border, trying to warn him of the impending danger, Jones couldn't get his bat down quick enough - and the square-leg umpire, Cumberbatch, gave him out.
Thought there was some controversy over this in that the batsman couldnt be out if he wasn't attempting a run? Perhaps the controversy was more over the sportsmanship displayed by Hooper? I must be wrong about this.
 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has

I'm obviously wrong, but this is what I'm talking about. I could have sworn there was something about not being able to be run out if not attempting a run in certain circumstances, but I'm obviously wrong!
 

Daemon

Request Your Custom Title Now!
I think my case was slightly different because it was a free hit, and the umpire had signaled as such. I had knowledge of it before the ball unlike Jones.
 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Ah ok, here you go...listen to Chappelli from about 3.00 onwards in this longer video...

 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Law 38

2. Batsman not Run Out

Notwithstanding 1 above,

(a) A batsman is not out Run out if

(i) he has been within his ground and has subsequently left it to avoid injury, when the wicket is put down.

Note also the provisions of Law 29.1(b) (When out of his ground).

(ii) the ball has not subsequently been touched by a fielder, after the bowler has entered his delivery stride, before the wicket is put down.

(iii) the ball, having been played by the striker, or having come off his person, directly strikes a protective helmet worn by a fielder and, without any other contact with him or any contact with any other fielder, rebounds directly on to the wicket. However, the ball remains in play and either batsman may be Run out in the circumstances of 1 above if a wicket is subsequently put down.

(b) The striker is not out Run out
(i) if he is out Stumped. See Laws 2.8(e)(ii) (Transgression of the Laws by a batsman who has a runner) and 39.1(b) (Out Stumped).
(ii) either in the circumstances of Law 2.8(e)(i) (Transgression of the Laws by a batsman who has a runner) or, otherwise,

if No ball has been called
and he is out of his ground not attempting a run
and the wicket is fairly put down by the wicket-keeper without the intervention of another fielder.
 

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Law 27

7. Batsman leaving his wicket under a misapprehension

An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left his wicket under a misapprehension that he is out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman.
 

cnerd123

likes this
you'd think after 7 years and 21 thousand posts on a cricket forum that Daemon would be aware enough of the rules in order to stand his ground and not get dismissed in such a dumb manner

clearly not
 

Daemon

Request Your Custom Title Now!
That was back in 2007 or 2008 in a school game.

Tbf it took me a decade to finally realise the right rule.
 
Last edited:

The Hutt Rec

International Vice-Captain
What's the status of the ball becoming dead when a batsman is bowled off a no ball or free hit? I'd have thought if the batsman is in his crease, it's pretty much a dead ball as soon as the ball hits the stumps? Not like you can run a bye in that circumstance ... or can you?

Edit: actually I suppose you can, if the ball flies off to the boundary or something?
 
Last edited:

honestbharani

Whatever it takes!!!
What's the status of the ball becoming dead when a batsman is bowled off a no ball or free hit? I'd have thought if the batsman is in his crease, it's pretty much a dead ball as soon as the ball hits the stumps? Not like you can run a bye in that circumstance ... or can you?

Edit: actually I suppose you can, if the ball flies off to the boundary or something?

Yeah I have seen batsmen get bowled and the team given 4 byes when that happens. So I assume it can't be one rule for the run out and one for the boundary. And in that Dean Jones incident, was it not because it was Hooper who did the run out that it was out? I guess if it was the keeper it would have been not out. And I assume the law was there because rpesumably you can get runs even if you are dismissed in a manner that does not count off a no ball. Now I guess the addendum reg. player thinking he was dismissed was added post that dismissal, coz if that is the rule, even Murali was not run out when Baz ran him out all those years ago, right?
 

Top