Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Shouldn't this rule be changed?

  1. #1
    Hall of Fame Member honestbharani's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    15,695

    Shouldn't this rule be changed?

    That run out that was not given in the Australia Vs Bangladesh game was ridiculous. I know the law has to be obeyed, but isn't it time that the laws were changed? I once saw Mark Waugh being bowled by Raju, but the bails weren't dislodged. So he stayed in. Surely, batsmen have enough advantages as it is. I just think that the wicket should be considered broken if the ball has made contact with any of the stumps. That should be that. None of this "bails completely dislodged" or "stumps taken out of the ground" complex nonsense.
    We miss you, Fardin. :(. RIP.
    Quote Originally Posted by vic_orthdox View Post
    In the end, I think it's so utterly, incomprehensibly boring. There is so much context behind each innings of cricket that dissecting statistics into these small samples is just worthless. No-one has ever been faced with the same situation in which they come out to bat as someone else. Ever.
    A cricket supporter forever

    Member of CW Red and AAAS - Appreciating only the best.


    Check out this awesome e-fed:

    PWE Efed

  2. #2
    Cricket Web: All-Time Legend andyc's Avatar
    Yeti Sports 1.5 Champion!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    23,856
    No way. The bails should definitely have to come off. For one, it saves confusion.
    Quote Originally Posted by flibbertyjibber View Post
    Only a bunch of convicts having been beaten 3-0 and gone 9 tests without a win and won just 1 in 11 against England could go into the home series saying they will win. England will win in Australia again this winter as they are a better side which they have shown this summer. 3-0 doesn't lie girls.

  3. #3
    International Regular oz_fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    3,977
    I think it should. If you hit the stump through either bowling or a run out you have achieved your aim and I think that its good enough to be classed out but like andyc said it is likely to cause confusion and could be hard to tell even with replays.

  4. #4
    Hall of Fame Member FaaipDeOiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,104
    It's pretty hard to definitively tell if the stump has been hit in certain cases though. What if the ball just brushes it? The bails being knocked off is a clear thing that is easy to judge in 99% of cases, so there's no trouble.

    However, the run out today really should ahve been given. The rule isn't that the bails have to be a certain distance in the air before the batsman is out, they just have to be dislodged, and when the stump is knocked back several inches the bail is obviously dislodged, even if you can't see the bail on the camera clearly because of the colouring.

    There's been some terrible third umpiring in this series actually, does anyone know if it has been the same guy every time? There's the shocking mixup with the catch on Aftab Ahmed where Ponting got fined, the Hayden run out in the second test that was too close to call, and then the Cullen run out today.
    I know a place where a royal flush
    Can never beat a pair


  5. #5
    RTDAS pasag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Looking for milksteak
    Posts
    31,678
    No way, once you start changing rules everything goes to hell. Anyway the incident that happened tonight, the bails were off i think, its just that the other pitch was pretty white and you couldnt see them clearly.

  6. #6
    International Coach GotSpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Stranger leering through a pair of binoculars
    Posts
    12,826
    No. Bails should come off.
    Mark Waugh
    "He's [Michael Clarke] on Twitter saying sorry for not walking? Mate if he did that in our side there'd be hell to play. AB would chuck his Twitter box off the balcony or whatever it is. Sorry for not walking? Jesus Christ man."
    Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is knowing not to put it into a fruit salad
    RIP Craigos

  7. #7
    Cricket Web Content Updater alternative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    11,114
    I reckon the bails have to be dislodged, like if there is no pressure in bails being dislodged or if it just smacks the wickets and doesn't dislodge da bails, then its simply NOT OUT!!

    But from time to time, bowlers and fielders are unlucky with such stuff..
    Ie: i am not sure but i think this was in the Natwest Series of 2005, where i think it was Plunkett who actually missed out on a hatrick, as hi hit the top of the middle stump but bails didn't dislodge.. Its just unlucky..

    Ok i dunno if this makes sense or not, i hope it does.. if not.. ah well..
    Member of the AAAS
    Member of CW Green | Stedingham Jets Grade Cricket Team | Northside Power

    Manager of South Australia (WCC)

    Winner of AFL Tipping 2006 | Winner of Wimbeldon Prediction 2006

  8. #8
    Cricket Web: All-Time Legend andyc's Avatar
    Yeti Sports 1.5 Champion!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    23,856
    What exactly happened tonight with the run out?

  9. #9
    Hall of Fame Member FaaipDeOiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,104
    That was Tremlett. Against Bangladesh in his debut match, his hat-trick ball hit the stumps but the bails stayed on.

    Actually, that whole English summer the bails seemed hard to knock off. There was another incident in the NWS, and in the tests there was a ball from Flintoff I think that hit the outside of leg stump pretty hard and didn't knock off the bails.

  10. #10
    Englishman BoyBrumby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Locked up inside my opium den, surrounded by some Chinamen
    Posts
    45,200
    There was another case very recently in the SA v NZ 1st test. Franklin (I think) was bowling to Ntini and hit the off stump with pretty much the meat of the ball & the bails stayed on. It was given its own "things that shouldn't happen" slot on a sports round-up programme up here.

    It was certainly the hardest I've seen the stumps hit without the bails dislodging. It seems to be happening more frequently or, at least, one hears it being reported more often nowadays.
    Cricket Web's 2013/14 Premier League Tipping Champion

    - As featured in The Independent.

    "as much a news event as an actual footballer, a worthy stop-start centre forward, but an all-time hyper-galactico when it comes to doing funny things with cars and hats, a player whose signing proves once again that the Premier League is still undoubtedly the best in the world when it comes to doing things with cars and hats."
    - Barney Ronay on Mario Balotelli

  11. #11
    International Vice-Captain Dasa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,955
    Quote Originally Posted by FaaipDeOiad
    That was Tremlett. Against Bangladesh in his debut match, his hat-trick ball hit the stumps but the bails stayed on.

    Actually, that whole English summer the bails seemed hard to knock off. There was another incident in the NWS, and in the tests there was a ball from Flintoff I think that hit the outside of leg stump pretty hard and didn't knock off the bails.
    Giles hit the leg-stump in the Champions Trophy bowling to Martyn but the bails didn't come off.

    Not as bad as the time Mushtaq Ahmed bowled one that went in the gap between off and middle stump (against South Africa I think). The stumps moved a little bit, bit the bails stayed on.

    ..and regarding HB's point, I think a clear distinction has to be made and all the umpires should agree to use the same interpretation. Otherwise you see some umpires giving it not out of the bails haven't completely fallen off while others give the same thing out.
    Last edited by Dasa; 26-04-2006 at 07:46 AM.

  12. #12
    RTDAS pasag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Looking for milksteak
    Posts
    31,678
    The case tonight wasnt that the bails hadnt come off, but at the split second between the batsman being over the line they were not off yet. In the first frame he is not yet in the crease, Cullen had put his hand through the stumps but you cant see if the bails had come off. The next shot shows the bails in the air but the batsman home.

    I think it was very poor umpiring and even worse video umpiring. Just becuase you cant see the bail sailing in the air doesnt mean they are still ontop of the stumps.

  13. #13
    School Boy/Girl Captain atichon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    150
    Another rule I would like to change concerning run outs :
    I never understood why you could add to the score AND be out within the same ball. To me either you're safe when the ball is dead, then you can add the runs to the score, either you ran carelessly for a second or third run and you lose the benefit of every run scored.

    Particularly in ODIs, this would add pressure to the side chasing when the RRR is high with a lot of remaining wickets.

  14. #14
    Cricket Web Content Updater alternative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    11,114
    Quote Originally Posted by FaaipDeOiad
    That was Tremlett. Against Bangladesh in his debut match, his hat-trick ball hit the stumps but the bails stayed on.

    Thanx for that, i forgot his name..

  15. #15
    Hall of Fame Member FaaipDeOiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,104
    Quote Originally Posted by pasag
    I think it was very poor umpiring and even worse video umpiring. Just becuase you cant see the bail sailing in the air doesnt mean they are still ontop of the stumps.
    Exactly. It's one thing to give benefit of the doubt to the batsman when there is real doubt, but if the stumps are clearly broken and the fielder's hand is right through them, obviously the bails have been dislodged. Just because you can't see them in the air due to the background doesn't mean it should be given not out.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The first rule of _______ club is....
    By Paid The Umpire in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 23-11-2008, 08:39 PM
  2. Your Favourite rule
    By prossj in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15-12-2006, 09:05 PM
  3. Forum, thread/forum read system changed
    By James in forum Cricket Web Forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-04-2006, 12:27 AM
  4. Solution for rain rule
    By Pratters in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 25-01-2004, 05:44 PM
  5. Should the first fifteen overs rule in ODIs be changed?
    By full_length in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 13-10-2002, 04:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •