Last edited by Jono; 05-07-2010 at 05:59 AM.
"I am very happy and it will allow me to have lot more rice."
Eoin Morgan on being given a rice cooker for being Man of the Match in a Dhaka Premier Division game.
If a defender takes down a player who is one on one with the goalie, that is not an absolute situation, because the keeper could have prevented the ball going in, the player could have missed the goal etc.
In the Uruguay situation, the ball was going on, until the Suarez cheated to prevent that occurring. There is no doubt at all.
The fact is nobody was claiming that Ghana shouldn't have had to take their penalty against Australia despite it being the exact same situation.
If a player has rounded the keeper how on earth could the keeper still save it?!
Right, so he's gone around the keeper, the keeper has tripped him from behind not the front?
Well then he could do this (1 minute in)
YouTube - sportpost.com - open goals missed
Last edited by Jono; 05-07-2010 at 06:35 AM.
As a fair compromise here I suggest if a player handballs on the line, the aggrieved side gets a penalty kick without a goalkeeper present. That would appease Uppercut at least
Rest In Peace Craigos
Or when the penalty is taken the goalkeeper isn't allowed to use his hands to stop it.
Or how about making the goalkeeper wear the dress that Monica Seles wore at Wimbledon in 1991.
Or how about banning Frank Lampard from all football because he's such a ponce (not related to the handball incident but a good idea anyway.)
If you can honestly say you can't see a difference between a guy not deliberately stopping the ball with his hands and a guy throwing his hands in front of the ball to stop it going in the net then I'd be pretty surprised to be honest.
If the argument is that the ref may not be able to judge each situation on its merits due to being impeded or whatever then that's kind of understandable.
Personally think any rule which basically says "if it's not black...then it must be white" is pretty silly.
Last edited by Son Of Coco; 06-07-2010 at 05:29 AM.
"What is this what is this who is this guy shouting what is this going on in here?" - CP. (re: psxpro)
R.I.P Craigos, you were a champion bloke. One of the best
R.I.P Fardin 'Bob' Qayyumi
Member of the Church of the Holy Glenn McGrath
"How about you do something contstructive in this forum for once and not fill the forum with ****. You offer nothing." - theegyptian.
No, you've completely missed my original point, which was that Kewell's handball was considered deliberate by the referee, and also by many viewers, myself included (kinda). Therefore Kewell handled it on the line which stopped a goal. just like the Uruguayan bloke.
If you don't think Kewell's was a deliberate handball, fair enough (ish) but that's not what I'm arguing. Once the decision was given it is EXACTLY the same offence was the one we saw in the last minute of Uruguay V Ghana.
"It was an easy decision to sign. I could have gone elsewhere, I had calls, but it never entered my mind it's not about the money."
RIP Craigos. A true CW legend. You will be missed.
I don't think that's fair (not that FIFA will be too concerned with what I think), hence my saying that any rule which allows people to state - "well they got the same penalty so it's the same thing" is a bit ridiculous. There's no grey area to cover blatant transgressions, it's either black or white. I do realise though that under the current rule they're considered to be the same thing.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)