Stats Spider England v India: 1st Test, 1946

Main Home Country Home Players Records Matches

England v India @ Lord's, London
22, 24, 25 June 1946 (three-day match)

Toss: India (bat)
Umpires: HG Baldwin, JA Smart
Match Result: England won by 10 wickets

1st Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
1. Vijay Merchantc Paul Gibb b Alec Bedser12----
2. Vinoo Mankad b Doug Wright14----
3. Lala Amarnathlbw b Alec Bedser0----
4. Vijay Hazare b Alec Bedser31----
5. Rusi Modinot out 57----
*6. Nawab of Pataudic Jack Ikin b Alec Bedser9----
7. Gul Mohammad b Doug Wright1----
8. Abdul Kardar b Bill Bowes43----
+9. Dattaram Hindlekarlbw b Alec Bedser3----
10. CS Nayudust Paul Gibb b Alec Bedser4----
11. Sadu Shinde b Alec Bedser10----

FOW 1-15 (Vijay Merchant), 2-15 (Lala Amarnath), 3-44 (Vinoo Mankad), 4-74 (Vijay Hazare), 6-87 (Gul Mohammad), 7-144 (Abdul Kardar), 8-147 (Dattaram Hindlekar), 9-157 (CS Nayudu), 200 (Sadu Shinde).
Extras 10b, 6lb, 0w, 0nb, 0pen) 16
Total (for 10 wickets, 76.1 ovs) 200

Bowling O M R W Extras
Bill Bowes257641 (0w,0nb)
Alec Bedser29.111497 (0w,0nb)
Frank Smailes51180 (0w,0nb)
Doug Wright174532 (0w,0nb)

2nd Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
1. Len Huttonc CS Nayudu b Lala Amarnath7----
2. Cyril Washbrookc Vinoo Mankad b Lala Amarnath27----
3. Denis Compton b Lala Amarnath001--
*4. Wally Hammond b Lala Amarnath33----
5. Joe Hardstaffnot out 205-31516-
+6. Paul Gibbc Vijay Hazare b Vinoo Mankad60-156--
7. Jack Ikinc Dattaram Hindlekar b Sadu Shinde16----
8. Frank Smailesc Vinoo Mankad b Lala Amarnath25----
9. Alec Bedser b Vijay Hazare30----
10. Doug Wright b Vinoo Mankad3----
11. Bill Boweslbw b Vijay Hazare2----

FOW 1-16 (Len Hutton), 2-16 (Denis Compton), 3-61 (Cyril Washbrook), 4-70 (Wally Hammond), 5-252 (Paul Gibb), 6-284 (Jack Ikin), 7-344 (Frank Smailes), 8-416 (Alec Bedser), 9-421 (Doug Wright), 428 (Bill Bowes).
Extras 11b, 8lb, 0w, 1nb, 0pen) 20
Total (for 10 wickets, 169.4 ovs) 428

Bowling O M R W Extras
Vijay Hazare34.441002 (0w,0nb)
Lala Amarnath57181185 (0w,0nb)
Gul Mohammad2020 (0w,0nb)
Vinoo Mankad48111072 (0w,0nb)
Sadu Shinde232661 (0w,0nb)
CS Nayudu51150 (0w,0nb)

3rd Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
1. Vijay Merchantlbw b Jack Ikin27----
2. Vinoo Mankadc Wally Hammond b Frank Smailes63-8571
3. Rusi Modilbw b Frank Smailes21----
4. Vijay Hazarec Wally Hammond b Alec Bedser34----
5. Abdul Kardar b Alec Bedser0----
*6. Nawab of Pataudi b Doug Wright22----
7. Gul Mohammadlbw b Doug Wright9----
8. Lala Amarnath b Frank Smailes50----
+9. Dattaram Hindlekarc Jack Ikin b Alec Bedser17----
10. CS Nayudu b Alec Bedser13----
11. Sadu Shindenot out 4----

FOW 1-67 (Vijay Merchant), 2-117 (Vinoo Mankad), 3-126 (Rusi Modi), 4-129 (Abdul Kardar), 5-174 (Vijay Hazare), 6-185 (Gul Mohammad), 8-249 (Dattaram Hindlekar), 9-263 (Lala Amarnath), 275 (CS Nayudu).
Extras 10b, 2lb, 0w, 3nb, 0pen) 15
Total (for 10 wickets, 81.1 ovs) 275

Bowling O M R W Extras
Bill Bowes4190 (0w,0nb)
Alec Bedser32.13964 (0w,0nb)
Frank Smailes152443 (0w,0nb)
Doug Wright203682 (0w,0nb)
Jack Ikin101431 (0w,0nb)

4th Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
1. Len Huttonnot out 22----
2. Cyril Washbrooknot out 24----
3. Denis Compton
*4. Wally Hammond
5. Joe Hardstaff
+6. Paul Gibb
7. Jack Ikin
8. Frank Smailes
9. Alec Bedser
10. Doug Wright
11. Bill Bowes

Extras 0b, 1lb, 1w, 0nb, 0pen) 2
Total (for 0 wickets, 16.5 ovs) 48

Bowling O M R W Extras
Vijay Hazare4270 (0w,0nb)
Lala Amarnath40150 (0w,0nb)
Vinoo Mankad4.51110 (0w,0nb)
CS Nayudu40130 (0w,0nb)



Len Hutton, Cyril Washbrook, Denis Compton, Wally Hammond, Joe Hardstaff, Paul Gibb, Jack Ikin, Frank Smailes, Alec Bedser, Doug Wright, Bill Bowes


Vijay Merchant, Vinoo Mankad, Rusi Modi, Vijay Hazare, Abdul Kardar, Nawab of Pataudi, Gul Mohammad, Lala Amarnath, Dattaram Hindlekar, CS Nayudu, Sadu Shinde