• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Research project- Is cricket still a gentleman's game?

GusPrideaux

Cricket Spectator
Dear cricket enthusiasts

I am a year 11 student at Urrbrae Agricultural High School in Adelaide, Australia. I am conducting a research project and my question is: To what extent is cricket still a gentleman's game? how does this relate to the recent Australian ball tampering scandal? I have put together a few questions that you can choose to elaborate on if you want. And you can voice your opinion on them if you so wish. Don't feel pressured to answer them :)

Are we putting too much pressure on our cricketing heroes to meet these ‘gentlemanly’ standards?

What is your opinion on the recent ball-tampering scandal? Do you think the players were treated fairly?

Do you think there is a certain uniqueness about the way Australian cricket players act, compared to the rest of the world?

Should others be held responsible for the way players act? (e.g. coaches, media, ICC)

Is player behavior getting worse, or just changing?

Do you believe that cricket is still a ‘Gentleman’s game’?

Thanks and kind regards, Gus Prideaux.

Last edited:

CricAddict

Cricketer Of The Year
Dear cricket enthusiasts