• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Does Jadeja make your India ATG XI?

Arachnodouche

International Captain
Kumble was far from a bunny. A hundred may have been an overachievement but he could hang about and make useful runs once in a while.

kyear2

Cricketer Of The Year
Which is far from a requirement for a number 8.
Fully agreed, but may be for these line ups being selected because they're possibly a batsman short.

I'm not an expert on India's selection criteria of reserves by any stretch, and I know they were short handled the last series, but Jadeja for me at least looked way out of place batting that high up.

Similarly, and using @OverratedSanity team (think was the best I saw and knows his stuff), it's really a batsman short imo. I know the goal is to fit two spinners to cover all bases (and it's a strength), but outside of Sunny and Sachin the batting isn't as fortified as some of the other teams and to shorten it with Pant at 6 could be a problem? Against this level of bowling Viru could be a walking wicket at the top and this may be blasphemous but Kapil too may be a liability at this level.

Yes at home they could possibly overwhelm with the bowling and Bumrah would be a handful everywhere, but an extra batsman doesn't seem like a bad idea and use the two pacers and two spinners?

Just a thought.

Last edited:

J_C

U19 Captain
Gavaskar
Sehwag
Dravid (c)
Tendulkar
Laxman
Pant (+)
Jadeja
Kapil
Shami
Bumrah
Chandra

kyear2