• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Warne v Murlie

Top_Cat

Request Your Custom Title Now!
THEY SHOULD ALL BE CALLED FOR CHUCKING!!!!
Great attitude. Glad you're not an umpire.

Having actually looked at the scientific evidence (hey I'm a scientist; I have connections......), though it wasn't a rigorous investigation, guys like Murali, Brett and especially Shoaib have been emancipated after it has been proved that they do NOT throw under any definition of the law.

The ONLY slightly dodgy part of Murali's action is when he bowls his top-spinner which goes away from the bat. Because it's such an awkward ball to bowl (especially for someone like him), his action is slightly dubious there. Other than that, they do NOT throw. The APPEARANCE of their throwing is an optical illusion because they all share a physical abnormality; they have unusually long radius and ulnar bones in their lower arms. This is part of where their pace comes from but in Murali's arm, it's an explanation for why he cannot totally straighten his arm.

In the fast bowling case, the exended Ulnar and radius mean there arms can hyper extend for than usual when they roll their arms over to bowl the ball. In Shoaib's case, his arm hyper-exends some 40 degrees THE WRONG WAY. Brett's arm hyper-extends somewhere in the vicinity of 25 degrees past straight, which is still around 15 degrees more than the average person.