Cricket Betting Site Betway
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Questions on cricket

  1. #1
    Cricket Spectator
    Join Date
    Jul 2005

    Questions on cricket


    I got few questions on cricket rules and I hope you can clarify my questions.

    I play for a league in IOWA,USA. We had a small problem in our regular matches when one of our bowlers just knocked the bails while he is bowling as the runner was not in his crease. He did not bowl the ball. I want to know if this is considered out according to cricket rules.

    “15. Bowler attempting to run out non-striker before delivery
    The bowler is permitted, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. The ball shall not count in the over.”

    Is this rule in cricket laws and if it is, is the non-striker out?

    The next question is one of our bowlers took a three wickets in four balls, but one ball was a wide. Is this a hat trick or not?

    I hope you can answer my questions.


    Ramsudhakar Vedula

  2. #2
    Cricket Web Staff Member Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    OK, OK, no need to post the thing twice...
    Appreciating cricket's greatest legend ever - HD Bird...............Funniest post (intentionally) ever.....Runner-up.....Third.....Fourth
    (Accidental) founder of Twenty20 Is Boring Society. Click and post to sign-up.
    chris.hinton: h
    FRAZ: Arshad's are a long gone stories
    RIP Fardin Qayyumi (AKA "cricket player"; "Bob"), 1/11/1990-15/4/2006

  3. #3
    Hall of Fame Member age_master's Avatar
    Plasmanaut on Fire Champion!
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    i think that the rule is still the same as the old one, if the bowler does NOT enter his delivery stride he can take the bails off, if the batsman is out of his crease he is given a warning, if the same thing happens again he is out Run Out.

    no thats not a hat trick.
    Member of CW Green
    Kerry O'Keefe - Worlds funniest Commentator

  4. #4
    International Regular shaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    auckland NZ
    Most likely a dead ball, or a warning.

  5. #5
    Hall of Fame Member social's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Not sure at what stage of the delivery (delivery stride, run-up, etc) the bowler can attempt to run non-striker out but there is no need to give warning.

    It is considered part of etiquette of cricket to do so (and generally bad form to apptempt such a run out after that) but there is no need for a warning.

    Type of attempt is called a "Mankad" after player from sub-continent who caused such a dismissal.

  6. #6
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Top_Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Marburg, Germany
    The warning is optional and more of a courtesy, though. If a bowler Mankads a batsman and appeals, the umpire will have to adjudicate and if the batsman is out of his/her crease, the umpire will have to uphold the appeal.

  7. #7
    Hall of Fame Member age_master's Avatar
    Plasmanaut on Fire Champion!
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    once the bowler has begun his/her delivery stride the batsman may leave the crease.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Bad Points about Cricket games out there
    By nitehawk in forum Cricket Games
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21-04-2005, 01:22 AM
  2. Cricket Web - New Design
    By James in forum Cricket Web Forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2005, 10:06 PM
  3. Cricket Legends Walk for Sri Lanka
    By bugssy in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-01-2005, 08:48 PM
  4. 3 cricket questions
    By Lyell_Chris in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2005, 10:04 PM
  5. cricket 2004 what do you think? EA or no way
    By DAN THE MAN in forum Cricket Games
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-06-2004, 07:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts