• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Experimential Team for Success

inbox24

International Debutant
Hey guys

I'm pretty new at this game so forgive me if this has been proposed before. But let's say I start a new international career and dump all the players in my team and start from scratch. Now for my international playing XI, I pick only youth players (preferably less than 22 years old) who have played a handful of first class games, but still with relatively decent records. For example a batsman averaging 50 with the bat from 5 first class matches or a bowler averaging 25 from from matches.

Now I build a team solely from these type of inexperienced but potentially talented players and play them in my XI at all costs. So it doesn't matter if they're out of form, or we lose every game or whatever, I just keep picking these XI players. Of course I would give them technique or batting practice when needed etc.

Now the question is, would I be able to build a world beating team this way, say in a matter of 2-5 years? If not how long would it take? Or on the flip side, is this a recipe for ending up with players averaging 10 with the bat and 100 with the ball?