Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rule Question

  1. #1
    Cricket Spectator
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10

    Rule Question

    My friends and I are new to cricket and have a question. Say the batter scores one run but while going for a second point is run out. Does the batter keep the first run?

  2. #2
    Cricket Web: All-Time Legend Pratters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    20,799
    Yes.

  3. #3
    Cricket Spectator
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks. Also, if the batter tips the ball and it hits his own wicket, but is not passed the popping crease, is he out?

  4. #4
    International Vice-Captain headhunter's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    4,246
    Quote Originally Posted by shanehodson View Post
    Thanks. Also, if the batter tips the ball and it hits his own wicket, but is not passed the popping crease, is he out?
    If the ball hits the wicket anytime your OUT!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Matteh View Post
    I'm still bitter about BBC2 showing the signing of the Good Friday Agreement instead of the Simpsons.
    Manager XpertEleven side: BEST Indies FC: Won Champions Cup 1 season 5
    Premiership Last Man Standing: headhunter 26/10-26/11/07 Agent TBY & headhunter (tied) 08/08-25/08/08
    CW Blue - We are the Blues, we never lose.


  5. #5
    State Vice-Captain gettingbetter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Down By The River
    Posts
    1,460
    What happens if you sky the ball and make a run and get caught before completing the second?

  6. #6
    Cricketer Of The Year SirBloody Idiot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Moving the hole in the o-zone layer
    Posts
    8,549
    Pretty sure that's no run, only the new batsman becomes the non-striker.

  7. #7
    U19 Debutant sohummisra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Houston/Mumbai
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by SirBloody Idiot View Post
    Pretty sure that's no run, only the new batsman becomes the non-striker.
    Yup, partial runs are only awarded for run outs, iirc.

  8. #8
    Cricket Web: All-Time Legend Pratters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    20,799
    Quote Originally Posted by headhunter View Post
    If the ball hits the wicket anytime your OUT!!

    Bat
    you mean. And nopes.

    Once a delivery is complete, if the batsman hits the wicket, he is not out. I do not know the exact rules for delivery being completed but AFAIK it occurs when any of the following happens:

    a) Batsman has completed his shot and shows no intention of taking further runs.
    b) Ball has crossed the boundary for four or six.
    c) A batsman has been dismissed.
    d) Umpire calls a dead ball or over.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. help and a question
    By mahmoodbhopal in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28-07-2007, 01:36 PM
  2. Points per runs scored question
    By macacd in forum Fantasy Cricket
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-03-2007, 02:18 PM
  3. Question on Standard form
    By PhoenixFire in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 03:51 PM
  4. Question on the party stands
    By Azikara in forum World Cup 2007
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-02-2007, 11:12 AM
  5. A question of spin
    By Mr Mxyzptlk in forum Cricket Web XI
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13-12-2006, 05:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •