Top three unchanged, NZ move

The official ICC test championship rankings have been updated as of 1 August 2005.

Australia, England and India have extended their advantage as the top three ranked sides.

Series played before August 2002 no longer count, which has severly affected the make-up of those on the table ranked four to seven.

New Zealand is the biggest beneficiary, moving from 7th to 5th without playing a game. South Africa jumps from 6th to 4th.

These movements are due to Sri Lanka and Pakistan’s decline, losing four and five points respectively.

Australia and India are at its highest rating since the ranking system’s inception in June 2003. If Australia were to beat England 5-0, they will move to 138 points.

Position (previous) Team Rating
1 (1) Australia 133(132)
2 (2) England 114(111)
3 (3) India 111(107)
4 (6) South Africa 100(100)
5 (7) New Zealand 99(97)
6 (4) Sri Lanka 98(102)
7 (5) Pakistan 95(100)
8 (8) West Indies 74(73)
9 (9) Zimbabwe 30(41)
10 (10) Bangladesh 6(5)

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Andrew Marmont