RSA name squad for India tour

South Africa have named three spinners in their 15-man squad to tour India, where they will play five ODIs, starting from November 16. Justin Ontong and Robin Peterson have been recalled, while Johan Botha gets his first call-up.

Nicky Boje, South Africa’s premier spinner, will skip the tour, along with batsman Herschelle Gibbs, as they weren’t assured of being not picked up by the Indian police to for questioning regarding the match-fixing scandal they were involved in on a previous tour.

Botha, who has also showed glimpses of all-round skills in his short domestic career thus far, was passed fit only recently, after being out of most SuperSport matches this season as a result of an injury on his left hand.

The only prominent name to miss out is Jacques Rudolph, who was part of the just concluded ODI series against New Zealand, but has been told to play in the domestic competition to regain form.

South Africa squad:
Graeme Smith (captain), Johan Botha, Mark Boucher (wicket-keeper), AB de Villiers, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Sudeep Popat