England stick with the same 12

The England selectors have kept with the same squad from Trent Bridge for the third and final Test at The Oval starting on 9th August.

Chairman of selectors David Graveney said during the media conference “While India fully deserved their victory at Trent Bridge, there were many positive aspects to our performance. We were particularly pleased with the way our inexperienced bowling attack performed and they will be hoping to build on that in the final Test.”

“Andrew Flintoff, Stephen Harmison and Matthew Hoggard are all making good progress in their recovery from injury but the selectors felt it was too soon to consider them for Test cricket and we have retained the same twelve players who were on duty at Trent Bridge.”

“We have been one-nil down before in Test series and come back to draw or win a series and I am sure that the players will be conscious of that and very keen to maintain our impressive record at home in Test cricket.”

England Squad
Michael Vaughan (captain), James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Kevin Pietersen, Matthew Prior, Monty Panesar, Ryan Sidebottom, Andrew Strauss, Chris Tremlett

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon