Duffin sacked as Zimbabwe captain

Terry Duffin has been sacked as Zimbabwe captain ahead of the upcoming one-day international series against Bangladesh with Prosper Utseya being named to take over on an interim basis.

The selectors are to discuss the captaincy in more detail in a move to appointing someone in a more permanent role.

Duffin only arrived in Zimbabwe a couple of days ago from England where he was playing club cricket and the decision was a complete surprise to him.

The reason given for his sacking was his leadership in the Caribbean where Zimbabwe lost the ODI series 5-0.

A 17-man squad has been named for the five match ODI series against Bangladesh with the first match being played on 29th July

Zimbabwe Squad
Prosper Utseya (captain), Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Piet Rinke, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Terrence Duffin, Ed Rainsford, Tawanda Mupariwa, Blessing Mahwire, Anthony Ireland, Ryan Higgins, Elton Chigumbura, Greg Strydom, Friday Kasteni, Tafadzwa Mufambisi.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon