BCCI annouce Twenty20 league

The BCCI have announced details of the Champions Twenty20 League which will feature the top two teams from India, England, Australia and South Africa.

Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble, Glenn McGrath and Stephen Fleming were all present for the announcement at a hotel in the Indian capital.

The league will start in October 2008 and will be played over nine days with prize money of US$5 million, with the winning team taking home US$2 million.

The eight teams will be split into two pools with a semi-final and final stage.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said on the league “The Champions Twenty20 concept will enhance rather than compromise existing domestic and international competitions around the world. It will provide added value to Australia’s interstate Twenty20 competition, the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, and help accelerate the development of this exciting new format on a global level.”

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon