Unchanged squad for 2nd test

New Zealand’s 13-man squad, with two to be excluded, named for the second test against the West Indies starting in Wellington on Friday is the same team as that named before last week’s first test in Auckland, which New Zealand won by 27 runs.

Although the new-look inexperienced top-order didn’t fully impress in Auckland, particularly Hamish Marshall, the top three have been given another chance in the second test.

The main bowlers, Shane Bond and Daniel Vettori apart, struggled at times too but have also been unchanged, although Kyle Mills and Jeetan Patel have a chance of taking part in this test match. If selected, it will be Patel’s test debut.

The match will be played against a West Indies side weakened by the loss of vice-captain Ramnaresh Sarwan, who is out of the tour with a thigh injury.

New Zealand:
Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, Peter Fulton, James Franklin, Jamie How, Brendon McCullum , Hamish Marshall, Chris Martin, Kyle Mills, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Daniel Vettori.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Edmunds