Twenty20 World Cup fixtures

The ICC unveiled the schedule for the first Twenty20 World Cup today, which will be held in South Africa in September.

There will be 26 games played over a two week period, with hosts South Africa taking on West Indies in the opener on 11 September.

The tournament is following a format of some similarity to the ODI World Cup, though there are 12 teams competing as opposed to 16, and therefore 3 in each of the first round groups. The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to a Super Eight stage, with the top four from that moving on to semi-finals and the final, which is in Johannesburg on September 24.


Group A:
11 September: South Africa v West Indies (Johannesburg, 1800)
13 September: West Indies v Bangladesh (Johannesburg)
15 September: South Africa v Bangladesh (Cape Town)

Group B: (All matches in Cape Town)
12 September: Australia v Zimbabwe
13 September: Zimbabwe v England
14 September: Australia v England

Group C:
12 September: New Zealand v Kenya (Durban)
14 September: Sri Lanka v Kenya (Johannesburg)
15 September: Sri Lanka v New Zealand (Johannesburg)

Group D: (All matches in Durban)
12 September: Pakistan v Scotland (1400)
13 September: India v Scotland (1800)
14 September: India v Pakistan (1800)

Super Eight phase:
16-20 September (12 matches)

22 September (Cape Town & Durban)

24 September (Johannesburg)

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton