Tharanga & Jayasuriya open up

Upul Tharanga and Sanath Jayasuriya put the Otago bowling attack to the sword on day three after the tourists dismissed the locals for 276 in their first innings.

Otago started the day on 140-2 with Aaron Redmond and Greg Todd at the crease and they managed to see off the initial opening bowlers but just when they were looking at opening up Redmond was trapped lbw by Dilhara Fernando for 53 with the score at 197.

From that point forward Otago lost their way and were all out for 276 losing their last seven wickets for only 41 runs.

The wickets were shared around the Sri Lankan bowling with Lasith Malinga being the pick of them taking 3-67.

Upul Tharanga and Sanath Jayasuriya were both in an aggressive mood in Sri Lanka’s reply and together took the attack to the Otago bowling.

Jayasuriya was eventually dismissed being run out for 85 with the score at 190 and Tharanga fell soon after making a superb 108.

Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene saw the tourists to the close at 240-2 with an overall lead of 377 with one day to play.

Sri Lanka 413
Chamara Silva 70, Chamara Kapugedera 68
Bradley Scott 4-56, Aaron Redmond 3-41

Otago 276
Jordan Sheed 57, Aaron Redmond 53, Craig Cumming 50
Lasith Malinga 3-67, Akalanka Ganegama 2-50, Fareez Maharoof 2-61, Dilhara Fernando 2-84

Sri Lanka 240-2
Upul Tharanga 108, Sanath Jayasuriya 85
Bradley Scott 1-52

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon