Stats Spider The Ashes: 5th Test, 1990/91

Main Home Country Home Players Records Matches

Australia v England @ W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth
1, 2, 3, 5 February 1991 (five-day match)

Toss: England (bat)
Umpires: SG, Ll and CD Timmins
Match Result: Australia won by 9 wickets

1st Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
*1. Graham Goochc Ian Healy b Craig McDermott1333392-
2. Mike Athertonc Ian Healy b Craig McDermott27144624-
3. Allan Lambc Allan Border b Craig McDermott91122206131
4. Robin Smithc Mark Taylor b Craig McDermott5812115391
5. David Gowernot out 2852943-
+6. Alec Stewartlbw b Craig McDermott299--
7. Phil DeFreitasc Geoff Marsh b Craig McDermott587--
8. Phil Newportc Ian Healy b Craig McDermott011--
9. Gladstone Smallc David Boon b Merv Hughes045--
10. Phil Tufnellc Ian Healy b Merv Hughes035--
11. Devon Malcolmc Geoff Marsh b Craig McDermott712271-

FOW 1-27 (Graham Gooch), 2-50 (Mike Atherton), 3-191 (Robin Smith), 4-212 (Allan Lamb), 5-220 (Alec Stewart), 6-226 (Phil DeFreitas), 7-226 (Phil Newport), 8-227 (Gladstone Small), 9-227 (Phil Tufnell), 244 (Devon Malcolm).
Extras 1b, 6lb, 1w, 5nb, 0pen) 13
Total (for 10 wickets, 66.4 ovs, 313 mins) 244

Bowling O M R W Extras
Terry Alderman225660 (0w,0nb)
Craig McDermott24.42978 (0w,5nb)
Merv Hughes173492 (1w,0nb)
Mark Waugh1090 (0w,0nb)
Greg Matthews20160 (0w,0nb)

2nd Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
1. Geoff Marshc Alec Stewart b Gladstone Small11010--
2. Mark Taylorc Alec Stewart b Devon Malcolm124583--
3. David Boonc Alec Stewart b Devon Malcolm6412414810-
*4. Allan Borderlbw b Phil DeFreitas170483-
5. Dean Jones b Phil Newport3452735-
6. Mark Waughc Gladstone Small b Devon Malcolm2637604-
7. Greg Matthewsnot out 601371965-
+8. Ian Healyc Allan Lamb b Gladstone Small4257745-
9. Craig McDermott b Phil Tufnell2546733-
10. Merv Hughesc Graham Gooch b Phil Tufnell046--
11. Terry Aldermanlbw b Phil DeFreitas721251-

FOW 1-1 (Geoff Marsh), 2-44 (Mark Taylor), 3-90 (Allan Border), 4-113 (David Boon), 5-161 (Dean Jones), 6-168 (Mark Waugh), 7-230 (Ian Healy), 8-281 (Craig McDermott), 9-283 (Merv Hughes), 307 (Terry Alderman).
Extras 2b, 8lb, 1w, 8nb, 0pen) 19
Total (for 10 wickets, 90.5 ovs, 406 mins) 307

Bowling O M R W Extras
Devon Malcolm304943 (0w,0nb)
Gladstone Small233652 (1w,0nb)
Phil DeFreitas16.52572 (0w,2nb)
Phil Newport140561 (0w,6nb)
Phil Tufnell71252 (0w,0nb)

3rd Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
*1. Graham Goochc Terry Alderman b Merv Hughes1862912-
2. Mike Athertonc David Boon b Merv Hughes251091582-
3. Allan Lamblbw b Craig McDermott511161-
4. Robin Smithlbw b Terry Alderman43701087-
5. David Gowerc Mark Taylor b Terry Alderman5671-
+6. Alec Stewartc Ian Healy b Craig McDermott718421-
7. Phil DeFreitasc Ian Healy b Terry Alderman5914--
8. Phil Newportnot out 4055636-
9. Gladstone Smallc Mark Taylor b Merv Hughes41220--
10. Phil Tufnellc Ian Healy b Merv Hughes811101-
11. Devon Malcolmc Dean Jones b Craig McDermott61231--

FOW 1-41 (Graham Gooch), 2-49 (Allan Lamb), 3-75 (Mike Atherton), 4-80 (David Gower), 5-114 (Alec Stewart), 6-118 (Robin Smith), 7-125 (Phil DeFreitas), 8-134 (Gladstone Small), 9-144 (Phil Tufnell), 182 (Devon Malcolm).
Extras 5b, 5lb, 0w, 6nb, 0pen) 16
Total (for 10 wickets, 61.3 ovs, 294 mins) 182

Bowling O M R W Extras
Craig McDermott19.32603 (0w,4nb)
Terry Alderman223753 (0w,4nb)
Merv Hughes207374 (0w,0nb)

4th Innings


    Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
1. Mark Taylorc Alec Stewart b Phil DeFreitas1936543-
2. Geoff Marshnot out 6311014110-
3. David Boonnot out 3045873-
*4. Allan Border
5. Dean Jones
6. Mark Waugh
7. Greg Matthews
+8. Ian Healy
9. Craig McDermott
10. Merv Hughes
11. Terry Alderman

FOW 1-39 (Mark Taylor).
Extras 0b, 5lb, 2w, 1nb, 0pen) 8
Total (for 1 wickets, 31.2 ovs) 120

Bowling O M R W Extras
Devon Malcolm90400 (0w,0nb)
Gladstone Small105240 (2w,0nb)
Phil DeFreitas6.20291 (0w,1nb)
Phil Newport60220 (0w,0nb)



Mark Taylor, Geoff Marsh, David Boon, Allan Border, Dean Jones, Mark Waugh, Greg Matthews, Ian Healy, Craig McDermott, Merv Hughes, Terry Alderman


Graham Gooch, Mike Atherton, Allan Lamb, Robin Smith, David Gower, Alec Stewart, Phil DeFreitas, Phil Newport, Gladstone Small, Phil Tufnell, Devon Malcolm