South Africa announce ODI side

South Africa have given the cricketing world a glimpse of their likely World Cup side with the announcement of their 15 man squad for the one-day series against Pakistan, starting on Sunday.

Seven black players were included in the side, a figure in line with Cricket South Africa’s target for the World Cup. It also includes batsman Herschelle Gibbs. Gibbs will miss the first match due to his recent suspension for breaching the ICC code of conduct.

Haroon Lorgat, the convenor of the South African selection panel, expressed his confidence in the side that will take on Pakistan and then head for the Caribbean in March.

“We are confident in our one-day squad and have therefore retained the players that have performed for us over the past two seasons,” he said.

The final squad for the World Cup will be announced February 15th.


One-day: Graeme Smith (captain), Loots Bosman, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince, Roger Telemachus.

Twenty20: Smith (captain), Bosman, Gulam Bodi, De Villiers, Kemp, Albie Morkel, Peterson, Pollock, Telemachus, Alfonso Thomas, Johan van der Wath, Morne van Wyk.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Zac Gelman