Saleh out, Bashar retained

Bangladesh have named their squad for the upcoming ODI series against India, with Habibul Bashar retained as captain.

The selectors have kept faith in the side that saw them through to the Super Eight stage of the World Cup, the only change is the omission of batsman Rajin Saleh, who did not feature in the tournament.

Bashar performed poorly in the World Cup, scoring just 105 runs in the nine matches that he played. However he is retained, and Mohammad Ashraful is promoted above Shahriar Nafees to be his deputy.

India, who lost to Bangladesh in the World Cup will play two Tests and three ODIs on the tour, and their campaign starts on May 10.

Bangladesh ODI Squad: Habibul Bashar (c), Mohammad Ashraful (v-c), Javed Omar, Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Syed Rasel, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Farhad Reza.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton