McGrath rested for NZ series

Glenn McGrath is a notable omission from the 13-strong Australian squad heading across the Tasman for the three-match Chappell-Hadlee Trophy against New Zealand. His place in the playing eleven will be occupied by either Stuart Clark or Michael Lewis, both of whom are uncapped pace bowlers.

Another uncapped squad member is Brad Hodge, who has made a successful start to his test career, coming in to the squad to replace Damien Martyn who has not sufficiently recovered from a broken finger.

The idea of resting wicketkeeper and vice-captain Adam Gilchrist was also considered but he will be part of the tour which starts in Auckland in just over a week’s time.

Returning to the squad after missing the Super Series through injury is Brad Hogg, while Michael Clarke gets a chance to prove himself after missing out on the third test against the West Indies which is currently in progress.

Following that opening game on the 3rd of December, the series will be decided with the last two matches in Wellington on the 7th and Christchurch on the 10th.

Australian squad: Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Mike Hussey, Simon Katich, Michael Lewis, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Cameron White.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Richard Edmunds