Inzamam cleared of tampering

A spokesperson from the ICC has confirmed that Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq has been cleared of ball-tampering charges but has been found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute.

Senior ICC Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle said in his findings “I have considered their evidence honestly and fairly given.”

Madugalle went on to state “My duty is to call and give my own judgment. On the second charge – bringing the game into disrepute by refusing to play – I find Mr ul-Haq guilty in that on two occasions he led a protest against the umpires by failing to come on the field of play at the relevant time.”

“This is a Level 3 charge – two or four Test matches and/or between four and eight one-day matches.”

The Pakistan Cricket Board may appeal the decision within the next 24 hours.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Arunava Das