• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Surely Agnew has it wrong?

Dhoni_fan

U19 Debutant
Guys I am no statistics expert so please correct me if I am wrong, but was listening to the BBC podcast, and Agnew seemed to think off the top of his head that this result makes life harder for both Bangladesh and the West Indies to qualify.

I cannot for the life of me see how this is the case! surely if we assume that England, the West Indies anf Bangladesh are fighting for 4th spot, and if we also take it as fact what another BBC expert said that you need 6 points to qualify.

Then surely both of the West Indies and Bangladesh are better off for this result, as one of their main rivals has lost out on a potential 2 points, while they are both 2 wins away from the quarter final!.

England on the other hand by my reckoning would need to win 2 of their next 3 games against SA the WI and Bangladesh.

Can anyone here see where Agnew was coming from, because to me what he said made no sense at all!

mrcheek

School Boy/Girl Cricketer
I guess Agnew is working on the assumption that Ireland, West Indies and Bangladesh are fighting for 4th place. This assumes that India, South Africa and England will be the top 3.

On those assumptions, he is correct. But its a big leap to assume that England are going to be safe in 3rd.