• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

    You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

    If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Quiz Draft Voting Thread

Who drafted the best team?

  • Total voters


Audio File
Please vote for your top three teams.

Criczo XI (KingKallis)

1. Sir Jack Hobbs
2. Mark Taylor
3. Hashim Amla
4. Graeme Pollock
5. Clive Lloyd *
6. Alan Knott ( + )
7. Chris Cairns
8. Graeme Swann
9. Malcolm Marshall
10. Shane Bond
11. Craig McDermott

Out With Gout '88 XI (Spikey)

1. Geoff Boycott
2. Gordon Greenidge
3. Ian Chappell (*)
4. Lindsay Hassett
5. Mohammad Azharuddin
6. Vijay Hazare
7. Adam Gilchrist (+)
8. Ian Botham
9. Harold Larwood
10. Bob Willis
11. Clarrie Grimmett

Honest Hunks (honestbharani)

1. Bob Simpson
2. Simon Katich
3. Sir Don Bradman (c)
4. Michael Clarke (vc)
5. Sir Clyde Walcott (wk)
6. Trevor Goddard
7. Aubrey Faulkner
8. Hugh Trumble
9. Vernon Philander
10. Neil Adcock
11. Waqar Younis

Who Needs Imran Anyway XI (zaremba)

1. Murray Goodwin
2. CB Fry
3. Ted Dexter*
4. KS Ranjitsinhji
5. KS Duleepsinhji
6. Tony Greig
7. Matt Prior (w)
8. Maurice Tate
9. Garth le Roux
10. John Snow
11. Mushtaq Ahmed

Somerset XI

1. WG Grace
2. Victor Trumper
3. Arthur Shrewbury
4. Archie MacLaren
5. Herbie Taylor
6. Frank Woolley
7. Monty Noble
8. Johnny Briggs
9. Jack Blackham
10. George Lohmann
11. Fred Spofforth

Kyear XI

1. Barry Richards
2. Justin Langer
3. Rahul Dravid
4. Neil Harvey
5. Garry Sobers (c)
6. Colin Cowdrey (vc)
7. John Waite (wk)
8. Ian Bishop
9. Dennis Lillee
10. Colin Croft
11. Dereck Underwood

Pothas' XI

1.Sanath Jayasuriya
2.Roy Fredericks
3.Younis Khan
4.Stan McCabe
6.Keith Miller
7.Alec Stewart (wk)
8.Kapil Dev
9.Richie Benaud (c)
10.Dale Steyn
11.Bill O’Reilly

The 'Who Needs a Witty Title Anyway?' XI (rvd619323)

1. Sir Leonard Hutton
2. Dennis Amiss
3. Charles Macartney
4. Sir Frank Worrell (c)
5. Eddie Paynter
6. Doug Walters
7. Denis Lindsay (wk)
8. Mike Procter
9. Alan Davidson
10. Bobby Peel
11. Brian Statham

GingerFurball's XI

1. Marcus Trescothick
2. Virender Sehwag
3. Brian Lara
4. Kevin Pietersen
5. David Gower
6. Mark Waugh
7. Andrew Flintoff
8. Jeff Dujon
9. Shane Warne
10. Michael Holding
11. Shoaib Akhtar

When Cricket Was Played by Gentlemen XI (weeman27bob)

1. Bill Ponsford
2. Bill Woodfull
3. Saeed Anwar
4. Patsy Hendren
5. Zaheer Abbas
6. Les Ames
7. Hedley Verity
8. Merv Hughes
9. Fred Trueman
10. Curtly Ambrose
11. Tich Freeman

Charter 77 (Michaelf7777777)

1. Sunil Gavaskar
2. Arthur Morris
3. Sid Barnes
4. Viv Richards
5. Sachin Tendulkar
6. Kumar Sangakarra (+)
7. Clive Rice (*)
8. Jack Gregory
9. Wilfred Rhodes
10. Fazal Mahmood
11. Bill Johnston

morgieb's XI

1. Herbert Sutcliffe
2. Shane Watson
3. Dave Nourse
4. Everton Weekes
5. Shivnarine Chanderpaul
6. Thilan Samaraweera
7. Imran Khan
8. Rod Marsh (+)
9. Joel Garner
10. Charlie Blythe
11. Bruce Reid

Eds' XI

1. Bruce Mitchell (6)
2. Hanif Mohammad
3. George Headley
4. Javed Miandad
5. Clem Hill
6. Warwick Armstrong (5)
7. Ian Healy+
8. Richard Hadlee (1)
9. Anil Kumble (4)
10. Charlie Turner (3)
11. Courtney Walsh (2)

Blakus' XI

1.Eddie Barlow
2.Vijay Merchant
3.Greg Chappell
4.Denis Compton
5.Mahela Jayawardene
6.Martin Crowe
7.Vinoo Mankad
8.Ray Lindwall
9.Don Tallon
10.Wes Hall
11.Sydney Barnes

Tug of War XI (Agent Nationaux)

1. Graham Gooch
2. Alastair Cook
3. Rohan Kanhai
4. Jacques Kallis
5. Steve Waugh (c)
6. Ken Barrington
7. Brendon McCullum (wk)
8. Dan Vettori
9. Wasim Akram
10. Jason Gillespie
11. Mohammed Asif

Himannv's XI

1. Bill Lawry
2. Conrad Hunte
3. Wally Hammond
4. Allan Border
5. Peter May
6. Stanley Jackson
7. Godfrey Evans+
8. Peter Pollock
9. Hugh Tayfield
10. Frank Tyson
11. Allan Donald

Cabinet96's XI

1. Graeme Smith*
2. Jonathan Trott
3. Mohammad Yousuf
4. AB de Villiers
5. Andy Flower +
6. Ian Bell
7. Stuart Broad
8. Jim Laker
9. Alec Bedser
10. James Anderson
11. Glen McGrath

marc71178's XI

1. Matthew Hayden
2. Desmond Haynes
3. Ricky Ponting
4. Norm O'Neill
5. VVS Laxman
6. Mike Hussey
7. Jack Russell
8. Shaun Pollock
9. Andy Roberts
10. Muttiah Muralitharan
11. Terry Alderman
Last edited:


The Tiger King
I think HB's team stands out.....very strong team

2nd place Charter77
3rd place KingKallis
Last edited:


Global Moderator
Went for Marc, Himmanv & Michael's XIs.

Marc's has a strong bowling attack, deep batting and nobody is majorly out of position. Himmanv follows the same - strong attack and good batting line-up.
Michael drafted really well, and despite having a number 3 batsman at 6, is ahead of most of the other line-ups IMO.

I though these three were the best well-rounded, and kept everyone in position. Kyear extremely unlucky to miss out.


International Captain
Voted for Blakus, Eds and kyear.

Planned to vote for rvd and Somerset as I ran through that list but they somehow missed out in the end despite having very good teams.


Cricketer Of The Year
Voted for Pothas. Would also have voted for Somerset and Furball but failed to read the instructions. Three very stylish teams.

Jake, could you add those 2 votes for me?

On reflection I think GF's team might just have the edge.
Last edited:


State Vice-Captain
Went for rvd619323, Michael7777777 and Somerset.

I would of voted for Gingerfurball, till I noticed that he has a 4-man attack which features Flintoff and Akhtar. I give it a match before 1 of them is out injured


Cricketer Of The Year
Probably this is the 1st time we see the votes being shared between teams. None of these team has a clear edge.

If I have to pick one, I'd pick Sam's team.