I'm not sure why referees refer to 'double movements' in union since its a term used in rugby league but not in union laws, so you're right about that. However, I don't think the try awarded to Japan should've been allowed last night; theres nothing wrong with placing the ball in any direction, but when you're tackled and brought to ground and don't release the ball nor place it at that point, but instead have another surge towards the goal line and then place the ball on the try line, that should constitute not releasing the ball IMO. If it happened anywhere else on the field it'd be considered tackler not releasing and a penalty to the defending team; I can't recall which match it was - might've been Samoa vs Wales - but the referee penalised the Samoan player for doing just that.No such thing as double movement in Rugby mate - you can place the ball in any direction when you are on the ground.
and then the next day the Herald published thisTheres a few players on the bench that I thought would start (Harinordoquy in particular) but otherwise I thought it looked like a solid enough French side. Theres an article in the Herald today that some people are outraged that France were apparently fielding a B side and they thought they were not getting value for $400+ tickets..