Page 1 of 27 12311 ... LastLast
Like Tree75Likes

Thread: Children of Gaza

International Coach Agent Nationaux's Avatar

Children of Gaza

Some terrible stuff going on in Gaza. A very heart wrenching video.

I would hazard a guess and say that the severity of Israel's response was due in part to Hamas' Qassam Brigades targeting the Nuclear Reactor at Negiv City with M-75 rockets. It is true that the Israeli's do have a shield in place called 'Iron Dome', but by the same token any anti-missile system cannot be perfect.

Hamas: We attempted to hit the nuclear reactor in Dimona | JPost | Israel News

I'm not an expert but I imagine that a direct hit by a rocket on a Nuclear Reactor has the potential to be catastrophic to the entire region - hence the added angst.

Unfortunately, the Gaza Strip is one of the most densely populated areas of land on the planet with more than 13,000 people packed in per square mile. It also has one of fastest growing birth rates in the world giving a median age of just 18 for its 1.8 million inhabitants.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publicat...k/geos/gz.html

Consequently the odds of children being killed by Israeli retaliation are great, and tragedy is pretty much unavoidable whichever way you look at it. But an exploding Nuclear Reactor would not be good either.
    Last edited by watson; 27-07-2014 at 10:19 AM.
    FAVOURITE: 1. Barry Richards - 2. Victor Trumper - 3. Rohan Kanhai - 4. Brian Lara - 5. Garry Sobers - 6. Frank Woolley - 7. Alan Knott - 8. Maurice Tate - 9. Dennis Lillee - 10. Sydney Barnes - 11. Colin 'Charlie' Blythe

Cricket Web Staff Member fredfertang's Avatar
    Both sides should be ashamed of themselves and need their ****ing heads banged together - not since the troubles in Ireland have I had zero sympathy whatsoever with either party to a conflict

You have no sympathy for the children - who make up the majority of the deaths in the conflict?
    RIP Philip Hughes - 1988-2014