Page 118 of 564 FirstFirst ... 1868108116117118119120128168218 ... LastLast
Results 1,756 to 1,770 of 8451
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: You know what really grinds my gears? II

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend Top_Cat's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HeathDavisSpeed View Post
    I did a Chemistry degree, as it happens and although lab work is a critical part of that and was reflected in the amount of impact it had on your result, exam performance is the critical measure of performance.
    I would argue that completing the requirements of a degree doesn't make one a good scientist. In chem, remembering stuff did help me finish my degree, no question. Once I got a job, though......

Probably depends on the chem and how research-oriented it is too. Industrial or analytical chem, you're talking about stuff which ain't going to change much so knowing it inside and out will only help. More experimental disciplines, was a different story in my experience

Corey's first day in the job in a pharm company;

"Okay Corey, welcome aboard. We'll take it easy on you first up, need you to do a lit review, blah, blah, ya know."

"Sure thing."

*Goes to computer, googles 'how to do a lit review'*
    Last edited by Top_Cat; 15-06-2009 at 11:06 PM.
    The Colourphonics

Bandcamp
    Twitderp

Chicken Champion! Battle Pong Champion!
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Law and Order: Criminal Intent

Male cop: [reading a mathematical proof by a child prodigy] Look at the symbols he's using: infinity, omega - end, theta - death.

Female cop:...he's suicidal.

Right, because anyone using Greek letters in a mathematical proof must be suicidal.
    "Under the spreading chestnut tree,
    I sold you and you sold me."

Olivia's reasonably attractive, as good a reason as any to believe her.
    The one, the only CW Black
    Code:
    47.3 W Coppinger to Heads 
        Smacked the ball straight into the groin of Iwuajoku who has fallen over,