Cricket Player Manager
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lamentation on Mathematics

International 12th Man Shaggy Alfresco's Avatar

Lamentation on Mathematics

http://www.maa.org/devlin/LockhartsLament.pdf

Personally I found it quite an interesting read, and it might be why I never really liked maths at school even though I was alright at it. What does our mighty forum make of it?

I can count and can use a calculator.

All I need maths-wise.

International 12th Man Shaggy Alfresco's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by luffy View Post
    I can count and can use a calculator.

All I need maths-wise.
    Good for you.

I haven't read much of the article as I'm studying for big exams coming up, but with respect to Math, I myself experienced a transition some time during high-school. I remember, really disliking Math when I was doing school in India (grades 1 through 9). I was average at it, and truth be told, I never really "got it." I had to memorize proofs, regurgitate them on paper, got my passing grade and moved on. Then I moved to the US and somehow found the method of teaching in Math (and other subjects too) a lot more enjoyable at my new school. I got better at it and ended up doing some pretty advanced math before I decided I couldn't really wrap my head around Linear Algebra sometime in college.

I can't put my finger on why it got more interesting or why I got better at it. But I'm glad I did because Math really is beautiful and I'm glad I can appreciate that even if my ultimate understanding of the subject matter is limited.

There’s no ulterior practical purpose here. I’m just playing. That’s what math is— wondering, playing, amusing yourself with your imagination.
    I love how he puts Math along with music and painting rather than with the Physics/Biology, etc. Spoken like a true Mathematician. Man, those guys are the real nerds! But much respect.