• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Feedback on Video - Taking Up Leg Spin Again

jahangir89

Cricket Spectator
Hi guys,

Video: Grade 2 Patron's Trophy PAK - YouTube (but read below first)

I play First-Class cricket in Pakistan as an opening batsman. That's how I've worked my way up to First-Class cricket here in Pakistan, as an opening batsman. It's been a tough journey, primarily due to the fact that I am not good at playing spin at all, and here in Pakistan, spin is everywhere, you can't escape it. I'm starting to lose passion for batting. The runs have dried up, and I guess this may be attributed to the lack of passion more recently.

The lack of passion may have been triggered by my inability to play spin well. Also, I'm beginning to feel more and more that my "natural gifts" and my natural temperament don't go well with batting. I guess that's why I'm contemplating the idea of going back to bowling leg-spin again. When I was young, I was an extremely gifted leg-spinner. I quit bowling when I was 14 due to my father's pressure who wanted me to be a batsman. After that, I would pick up the ball only very rarely.