• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

New cricket game in the works

John73

School Boy/Girl Cricketer
Firstly, I guess I should introduce myself as I haven't posted on this forum before. I'm from Brisbane, Australia and a mad cricket fan. I've been programming on and off for over 30 years and have always wanted to write a decent cricket program.

I've been starting/stopping work over the years on what I want to write, but have decided to really give it a decent shot this year. The game is based on a program called "Test Match & Limited Overs Cricket" which was originally (I believe) released for the Sinclair home computer. I had the game in the early 80's but it was a rewrite for use on the Amstrad 464 home computer.

Anyway, in an attempt to keep myself motivated, I've decided to Blog the development process. Hopefully if a few people get interested then it will inspire me not to quit writing this after a few weeks like I've done so many times in the past.

For anyone that is interested, the blog is here: Test Match Cricket | An Amstrad CPC Remake. You can either post comments at the blog, or just post comments/suggestions in here. At this stage, I'm looking to more or less just make this a PC remake of the original version, if/when this is completed then I'll move onto expanding the game into what I'd always hoped this game could be - but more about that down the track.