• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Pitch types

vladiator

Cricket Spectator
How do you prepare your club's pitch? I started playing Hampshire and decided to prepare the pitch for spinning for Warne. Warne is doing OK, but my batsmen doen't bat to well. I tried to change it to batting pitch: my batsmen performed much better, but then Warne didn't and he is my only good bowler...

So, what kind of things you take into account for preparing the pitch?

sammy22

U19 12th Man
You need to take into account what will suit your team overall. For example if I was going to prepare a pitch for spinners I would ensure I had at least 2 quality spinners playing in that game, and possibly 3.

If preparing a good batting pitch ensure that you have players who can take advantage of the conditions, whilst making sure you still have bowlers who are going to be able to get a result for you.

It is also worth looking at your opponents, and the type of side they are. If a team has a couple of quality spinners then it might be worth preparing a seamers pitch and choosing players accordingly, thus limiting the sucsess of their players.

That's what I do anyway. :)

vladiator

Cricket Spectator
Thanks sammy. I will analyse teams a bit more.

Can I ask just two more question.

1) The ''keep strike" option for a batsman: if I tick it for a batsman what exactly will it do for him and for his partner.