Cricket Betting Site Betway
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 74
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: How many runs?

  1. #1
    School Boy/Girl Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    130

    How many runs?

    New Zealand vs. Pakistan, ODI. Saw only highlights and did not get details.

    The batsman was trying to stretch a single into a double. The outfielder tried to hit the wicket from some distance away but missed and no one was backing up, and the ball ended up over the boundary.

    They cut too fast to say how many runs scored on that play. Was it 4 because the play ended with the ball over the rope? Was it six for the two from the double and then 4 for the ball ending up over the rope?

    Australia vs. India, also ODI. Also highlight package with insufficient explanation.

    Starc bounced a delivery over the batsman's head and it rolled out over the rope. No way to hit it unless the batsman jumped. Is that a wide plus 4 for a boundary plus a no ball?
    Last edited by rodk; 12-12-2018 at 10:20 AM.

  2. #2
    International Captain andmark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    63*
    Posts
    5,500
    I'm almost certain it's six runs with, as you say, the two ran and the four overthrows (the term used to describe runs gained from a bad throw). I could speculate that there may be a good reason for this. In some grounds in the past, it wasn't impossible to run five. If a fielder had decided to be a **** and the rules were otherwise, they could just throw it over the boundary for a four instead which would be silly.
    Bijed likes this.
    And come what may we're unstoppable
    'cause we know just what we are
    Yeah we know just what we are
    - Oasis, "Stay Young"

  3. #3
    International Coach trundler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    11,100
    4 overthrows + whatever the batsmen have ran before the throw.
    trundler isn't annoying at all. He's quality. -TJB
    Yea trundler is the new Bijed. Good addition. - Zorax
    Quote Originally Posted by ankitj View Post
    trundler is the coolest member to join the forum in a long time.

  4. #4
    International Coach trundler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    11,100
    If it's wide then the ball will have to be bowled again and one run will be given to the batting side as is standard practice. 4 runs from the ball going to the once will be on top of that.


  5. #5
    International Debutant Bijed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    12,472
    Posts
    2,511
    Quote Originally Posted by rodk View Post
    Starc bounced a delivery over the batsman's head and it rolled out over the rope. No way to hit it unless the batsman jumped. Is that a wide plus 4 for a boundary plus a no ball?
    The no-ball rule for high deliveries wouldn't apply here - it's only for when the ball goes past the batsman at above waist level without bouncing first. So in this case it'd be 5 runs - 1 for the wide plus 4 for the boundary as you correctly identified.

    I don't think you a delivery can be both a wide and a no-ball - I think if you overstep and bowl a wide it gets called the no-ball call* is deemed to override the wide.


    *Current state of affairs regarding calling no-balls notwithstanding

  6. #6
    School Boy/Girl Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    130
    What happens if the runner has made his ground before the ball hits the wicket and then gets away? Is the ball live? Can the runners try to score some more? If so, can the fielders try to make another play at the same wicket if that opportunity comes up?

  7. #7
    International Debutant Bijed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    12,472
    Posts
    2,511
    Quote Originally Posted by rodk View Post
    What happens if the runner has made his ground before the ball hits the wicket and then gets away? Is the ball live? Can the runners try to score some more? If so, can the fielders try to make another play at the same wicket if that opportunity comes up?
    Yes to both, though if the bails have already been dislodged then the fielders would have to effect the second run out attempt by pulling a stump out of the ground instead.

  8. #8
    School Boy/Girl Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    130
    Can umpires fix situations that have resulted from bad initial decisions? Say a batsman is given out on a catch but the replay shows the ball has been trapped. Both sides probably stopped playing on the bad initial decision. Does the umpire have the power to award the runs that should have been scored if the play had been correctly decided in the first place?

  9. #9
    Cricketer Of The Year SillyCowCorner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    On Earth
    Posts
    8,627
    Quote Originally Posted by rodk View Post
    Can umpires fix situations that have resulted from bad initial decisions? Say a batsman is given out on a catch but the replay shows the ball has been trapped. Both sides probably stopped playing on the bad initial decision. Does the umpire have the power to award the runs that should have been scored if the play had been correctly decided in the first place?
    Okay, as far as I know, once the batsman has been given out, the ball is dead. The batsmen can't attempt any more runs. They can surely fix this situation by calling on the 3rd umpire to review the catch. If batsmen completed x number of runs before the fielder claimed the catch; and then umpire gives his decision; those x number of runs will be valid; not any runs after the fact; because play was halted to question the Umpire's decision.

  10. #10
    School Boy/Girl Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    130
    Is there a run penalty on the fielding team if a runner and fielder collide? Would it depend on who ran into whom and what each player was attempting to do at the time? Note: I saw a play in which fielder came in to pick up a grounder and was bumped by the runner as he went for the ball, and somehow the ruling was the collision was the fielder's fault and he was the one to apologize for interference.

    Are there other applicable penalties to this situation, such as red and yellow cards?
    Last edited by rodk; 12-12-2018 at 11:59 AM.

  11. #11
    Cricketer Of The Year SillyCowCorner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    On Earth
    Posts
    8,627
    Quote Originally Posted by rodk View Post
    Is there a run penalty on the fielding team if a runner and fielder collide? Would it depend on who ran into whom and what each player was attempting to do at the time? Note: I saw a play in which fielder came in to pick up a grounder and was bumped by the runner as he went for the ball, and somehow the ruling was the collision was the fielder's fault.

    Are there other applicable penalties to this situation, such as red and yellow cards?
    Simple answer: look at the first test match of the ongoing series between Bangladesh and windies. Shannon Gabriel and kayes.

    No run penalty. But a suspension for the instigator; Shannon Gabriel in this case.

    Cricket's not a contact sport.

    See: handled ball & hit ball twice dismissals

  12. #12
    Cricketer Of The Year SillyCowCorner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    On Earth
    Posts
    8,627
    Just curious,

    Is this an extension of 'Basic Questions' thread?

  13. #13
    International Coach StephenZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Africa / UK
    Posts
    10,664
    Quote Originally Posted by SillyCowCorner1 View Post
    Just curious,

    Is this an extension of 'Basic Questions' thread?
    Apparently. Insanity doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
    "The presence of those seeking the truth is infinitely to be preferred to the presence of those who think they’ve found it."

    "I have neither the time nor crayons to explain it to you...."

  14. #14
    School Boy/Girl Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by SillyCowCorner1 View Post
    Just curious,

    Is this an extension of 'Basic Questions' thread?
    No. That was about strategy. This is just about the scoring rules and related controversies.

  15. #15
    Cricketer Of The Year SillyCowCorner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    On Earth
    Posts
    8,627
    Olay cool.

    Have you looked up the two forms of dismissals I just mentioned?

    Handled ball
    Hit ball twice

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How many more runs to come?
    By Victor Ian in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-12-2017, 11:54 AM
  2. Replies: 350
    Last Post: 28-07-2016, 06:20 AM
  3. Best Runs of Form
    By LongHopCassidy in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 23-09-2006, 02:11 PM
  4. Wickets/Runs vs Runs/Wickets
    By Dasa in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 29-08-2005, 07:12 AM
  5. Most runs ever on the first day?
    By thierry henry in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2005, 04:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •