• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

English guy moving down under

DeletedUser1

Cricket Spectator
This is my first post on here so go easy ;)

Early next year I'll be moving to Australia (Sydney) on a working holiday visa initially and then hopefully I'll be gaining permanent residency. I want to know more about club cricket down under as currently i have little knowledge on the standards and what i can expect. I've been playing since i was 8 and spent a few early teenage years playing at minor county level before injuries meant i had to take a long time out of the game. I'm now 22 and when i move over i obviously want to join a club as soon as possible, both for the cricket, and the social aspect (because ill be a loner with no friends). From what i hear about grade cricket it is a very high standard, up there with county level in England. What are the chances of getting into one of the lower grades at these clubs at the standard i am currently at? I love the professional mindset from from grade teams with the training kits, training multiple times a week and the preseason schedule. So i would rather go for that instead of teams who are geared more towards leisure players.

Thanks and any help would be great!

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has
Most club cricketers in Australia would make the England test team of the 1990s.

That might give you an idea...

Red

The normal awards that everyone else has