Cricket Player Manager
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Query

  1. #1
    Cricket Spectator
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    india
    Posts
    1

    Query

    Hi
    I have a query regarding a rule of cricket.

    Say the batsman hits a no-ball in air and completes 2 runs before the ball is caught by the fielder. So how many runs does he get. Only one run for the no-ball is added to the total. Or 2 runs for the batsman and one for the no-ball are added to the total.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Cricketer Of The Year Adamc's Avatar
    Chicken Champion! Battle Pong Champion!
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in the wind, so to speak
    Posts
    9,129
    The batsman gets two runs, plus the no-ball, so three to the total.

  3. #3
    International Debutant SpaceMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    2,082
    Quote Originally Posted by Adamc
    The batsman gets two runs, plus the no-ball, so three to the total.
    They could also continue to run after the ball is caught. Although they can be run out still. I've seen in the past when a no-ball was caught and the fielder celebrates by throwing the ball away (not realising it was a no ball) and the batsmen just carry on running for runs while the said fielder embarrisingly runs after the ball

  4. #4
    PY
    PY is offline
    International Coach PY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    10,736
    Didn't a guy a couple of seasons back catch one on the boundary off a no-ball and threw it in celebration over the boundary rope and the umpire awarded a six?

    Not something I'd had have thought I'd 'invent' in my head but can't think for the life of me who it was.
    A True Champion - Bob. Rest in peace. 15/04/06
    "People today have too big a devil and too small a God"

    - Stephen Currie

    "The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?" Psalm 27:1


  5. #5
    State Captain chicane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    1,857
    Quote Originally Posted by PY
    Didn't a guy a couple of seasons back catch one on the boundary off a no-ball and threw it in celebration over the boundary rope and the umpire awarded a six?

    Not something I'd had have thought I'd 'invent' in my head but can't think for the life of me who it was.
    Happens all the time in Cricket 2004
    You talking to IR?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Pali Hill-Bombay
    Posts
    2,535
    I have to add something to the question, as the batsmen is not-out and will also be awarded the runs, can he still run for more runs after the catch has been taken

  7. #7
    International Debutant a massive zebra's Avatar
    Eggs Champion!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    on my ass @ the PC
    Posts
    2,815
    Quote Originally Posted by Sehwag309
    I have to add something to the question, as the batsmen is not-out and will also be awarded the runs, can he still run for more runs after the catch has been taken
    Yes, but he runs the risk of being run out in doing so.
    THE ULTIMATE CRICKET WEB ARCADE EGGS CHAMPION

    RIP Fardin Qayyumi (AKA "cricket player"; "Bob"), 1990-2006
    RIP Craig Walsh (AKA "Craig"), 1985-2012

  8. #8
    International Debutant SpaceMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    2,082
    Quote Originally Posted by Sehwag309
    I have to add something to the question, as the batsmen is not-out and will also be awarded the runs, can he still run for more runs after the catch has been taken
    Read my first post

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Pali Hill-Bombay
    Posts
    2,535
    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceMonkey
    Read my first post
    Ya, didn't read it..thanx

  10. #10
    SJS
    SJS is offline
    Hall of Fame Member SJS's Avatar
    Virus 2 Champion!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Mumbai India
    Posts
    19,264
    Batsmen can keep on running during an innings till the ball is 'dead' ie
    1) is in the hands of either keeper or bowler with both batsmen safely in their respective creases

    OR

    2) the umpire has declared a boundary (4 or 6)

    OR

    3) a batsman has been declared out

    4) or umpire calls off play for the day or for a break. Actually he shouldnt be calling off play til the ball is dead but umpires have been known to make this mistake and the ball is deemed dead if they do so even by mistake.

  11. #11
    Hall of Fame Member luckyeddie's Avatar
    Target Champion! Stuarts Xtreme Skateboarding Champion!
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    17,752
    Quote Originally Posted by PY
    Didn't a guy a couple of seasons back catch one on the boundary off a no-ball and threw it in celebration over the boundary rope and the umpire awarded a six?

    Not something I'd had have thought I'd 'invent' in my head but can't think for the life of me who it was.
    Similar - Brad Cheaty-Hodge carried the ball over the boundary in celebration during the 20:20 cup - Derbyshire maintained that it should have been a six, but most witnesses thought that BCH had the ball under control (i.e. the 'catch' had been taken) at the time.

    Except Corky.
    Nigel Clough's Black and White Army, beating Forest away with 10 men

  12. #12
    Cricketer Of The Year Adamc's Avatar
    Chicken Champion! Battle Pong Champion!
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in the wind, so to speak
    Posts
    9,129
    Paul Reiffel and Pedro Collins both managed a six-and-not-out in WC matches.
    "Under the spreading chestnut tree,
    I sold you and you sold me."

  13. #13
    Hall of Fame Member luckyeddie's Avatar
    Target Champion! Stuarts Xtreme Skateboarding Champion!
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    17,752
    Quote Originally Posted by Adamc
    Paul Reiffel and Pedro Collins both managed a six-and-not-out in WC matches.
    Pedro's was class.

  14. #14
    DJ
    DJ is offline
    School Boy/Girl Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    162
    Was that where he 'caught' Lance Klusener in the opening game?

  15. #15
    World Traveller Craig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Super Happy Fun Sugar Lollipop Land!
    Posts
    34,131
    Yep.

    I really your team was going to win.

    But they never ran (Klusener and Boje) and it was game set and match.
    Beware the lollipop of mediocrity. Lick once and you suck forever...

    RIP Fardin Qayyumi, a true legend of CW

    Quote Originally Posted by Boobidy View Post
    Bradman never had to face quicks like Sharma and Irfan Pathan. He wouldn't of lasted a ball against those 2, not to mention a spinner like Sehwag.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •