Cricket Betting Site Betway
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: DRS question

  1. #16
    State Vice-Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Groundking View Post
    Also can somebody explain to me why it being 'in-line' matters at all? Like why were reviews instantly satisfied as not out as soon as it was found they pitched outside the line in the most recent ODI between England and South Africa, even though they still might have gone onto hit the stumps.
    Because that's the rules of the game. Pitched outside of while offering a shot is not out ( can still be out if no shot was offered) and pitching outside leg is not out no matter whether a shot is offered or not.
    Last edited by Stefan9; 12-02-2016 at 04:16 AM.

  2. #17
    International Captain Adders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Master of the house, keeper of the zoo...
    Posts
    7,108
    Quote Originally Posted by Groundking View Post
    Also can somebody explain to me why it being 'in-line' matters at all? Like why were reviews instantly satisfied as not out as soon as it was found they pitched outside the line in the most recent ODI between England and South Africa, even though they still might have gone onto hit the stumps.
    Are you talking about "pitched" outside the line or "impact"?? Both are critical to the LBW law.

    The ball can pitch outside off stump and still be out LBW but if it pitches outside leg then it's not out. Impact (as in where the ball hits the pad always) has to be in the line of the stumps.
    You flew out to India
    When your country needed you
    Century on debut ,
    What a find.....

    Na na na na na na na na na

    Ali Ali Cook , Ali Cook , Ali Ali Cook

    Na na na na na na na na na

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDpy9JPZH3E

  3. #18
    International Captain Adders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Master of the house, keeper of the zoo...
    Posts
    7,108
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan9 View Post
    Because that's the rules of the game. Pitched outside of while offering a shot is not out ( can still be out if no shot was offered) and pitching outside leg is out no matter whether a shot is offered or not.

    Have a spell mate.

  4. #19
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Burgey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Castle
    Posts
    66,642
    Quote Originally Posted by TNT View Post
    All the umpires has to do is say "not out" and then the players should accept the umpires decision. That was one of the qualities of cricket, players accepted the umpires decision.
    We all know that changed at Sydney in 2008.


  5. #20
    Request Your Custom Title Now! OverratedSanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Elton Chicken Burrah
    Posts
    32,814
    Man it amazes me how Australians still seam to have all the sand from Sydney's beaches in their vags when it comes to that match. You guys won the match ffs. The result of the game wasn't changed or anything.

    Poor England don't complain nearly as much as they should that Oval 06 was retroactively turned into a draw.
    Last edited by OverratedSanity; 12-02-2016 at 05:37 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by TNT View Post
    You need to clap a cows c**t over your head and get a woolly bull to f**k some sense into you.

  6. #21
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    62,909
    Quote Originally Posted by OverratedSanity View Post
    Poor England don't complain nearly as much as they should that Oval 06 was retroactively turned into a draw.
    Erm, it's down in the books as a win for England? Rightly so seeing as they actually were wanting to play.
    marc71178 - President and founding member of AAAS - we don't only appreciate when he does well, but also when he's not quite so good!

    Anyone want to join the Society?

    Beware the evils of Kit-Kats - they're immoral apparently.

  7. #22
    International Debutant kiwiviktor81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,362
    Flametree's onto it.

    It's possible, under the current laws, for the umpire to be 100% satisfied that it's out but the verdict will be not out, essentially because of a technicality.

  8. #23
    Request Your Custom Title Now! OverratedSanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Elton Chicken Burrah
    Posts
    32,814
    Quote Originally Posted by marc71178 View Post
    Erm, it's down in the books as a win for England? Rightly so seeing as they actually were wanting to play.
    Didn't the ICC reverse the decision later and make it a draw due to pressure from the pcb?

    Edit: OK, I looked it up. The ICC then reversed it's decision again in 2009 and awarded the match to England. What a shambles. Atleast they got it right eventually.
    Last edited by OverratedSanity; 12-02-2016 at 07:06 AM.

  9. #24
    Evil Scotsman
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    away from here
    Posts
    31,129
    Quote Originally Posted by TNT View Post
    The reason for umpires call is because ball tracking is not 100% accurate.
    There shouldn't be an umpires call for when we're judging whether or not a batsman has been hit in line. We're tracking a known event (ball hitting the pad), not extrapolating a hypothetical (what would have happened had the pad not gotten in the way), and in line or not in line is a question with a yes or no answer. Quite why it exists is a mystery to me.

  10. #25
    International Coach TheJediBrah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,868
    Quote Originally Posted by Furball View Post
    There shouldn't be an umpires call for when we're judging whether or not a batsman has been hit in line. We're tracking a known event (ball hitting the pad), not extrapolating a hypothetical (what would have happened had the pad not gotten in the way), and in line or not in line is a question with a yes or no answer. Quite why it exists is a mystery to me.
    false. Point of ball hitting the pad is still subject to human error.

    Quote Originally Posted by OverratedSanity View Post
    Man it amazes me how Australians still seam to have all the sand from Sydney's beaches in their vags when it comes to that match. You guys won the match ffs. The result of the game wasn't changed or anything.

    Poor England don't complain nearly as much as they should that Oval 06 was retroactively turned into a draw.
    funny, for every time I've heard an Australian "complain" about that game (very rarely) there's been about 53953242 Indians complain about it
    Last edited by TheJediBrah; 12-02-2016 at 02:21 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. A question about a question on TMS - beat Bearders
    By Not out at Hyde in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 08:52 AM
  2. A question about a question on TMS - beat Bearders
    By Not out at Hyde in forum Site Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 08:52 AM
  3. A question
    By andmark in forum Site Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 19-10-2008, 05:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •