cricket betting betway blog banner small
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By zorax
  • 1 Post By llalundo

Thread: Question: Draw

Cricket Spectator

Icon5 Question: Draw

Hello

I'm new to cricket but start to understand basic concepts, scoring and stuff. But there's still a lot to learn. E.g.:

Assam 143/8 (84.0 ov, Wasiqur Rahman 13*, AK Das 0*, AA Gani 5/62) - Match over | Live Scorecard | ESPN Cricinfo

Why is the game between Assam and Bengal a draw when Bengal is so far ahead that Assam (probably) will never catch up. It end's after 8 overs in Assam's second innings. Bengal never gets to play their second innings.

And: When it's a draw, why do Bengal get 3 points and Assam 1?

Thanks for any hints.

Llalundo

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend morgieb's Avatar
    Basically a draw happens when the game has finished before a result has been reached, regardless of which team is ahead and by how much.

As for question 2, I believe it has to do with first-innings/bonus points, which are common occurances as a tie-breaker for draws in domestic FC competitions.
    RIP Craig Walsh (Craig) 1985-2012
    RIP Hughesy 1988-2014. 63* for eternity.

Cricket Spectator
    Quote Originally Posted by morgieb View Post
    Basically a draw happens when the game has finished before a result has been reached, regardless of which team is ahead and by how much.

As for question 2, I believe it has to do with first-innings/bonus points, which are common occurances as a tie-breaker for draws in domestic FC competitions.
    Aye, I see. Thanks a lot.

I guess I still have to get used to the concept of playing for four days and then the match turns out to be a draw because time ran out. :-)

Cricket Spectator
    Yepp, must be something like this:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E...#Points_system

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend zorax's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by llalundo View Post
    Aye, I see. Thanks a lot.