Cricket Betting Site Betway
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 47

Thread: Interesting question

  1. #1
    State Vice-Captain
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,079

    Interesting question

    Ok everyone

    In a club match something interesting happened. This is the situation. I know the correct answer but would like to quiz you guys on it.

    A batter did a drop and run. No fielders atempted to get the ball so they took of for a second run. On the way back, the batter managed to kick the ball onto the stumps. No fielder has touched the ball. Is the batter out? and if he is, how is he out?

    I will post the answer sometime soon, but would be interested to see your answer.

  2. #2
    International Regular NikhilN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New Jersey.United States
    Posts
    3,517
    nope...
    liveyalifenikhilsway@hotmail.com -MSN

    Quote Originally Posted by Cricinfo
    Hello and welcome back
    Rain has stopped and palyers are back in the middle
    Play is about to stop

  3. #3
    State Regular Bouncer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    A51
    Posts
    905
    He could be run out, since he is taking the run so the ball wouldnot be dead yet...just a guess.

  4. #4
    International Captain Slow Love™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6,080
    You'd presume that similar conditions would apply as when a batsmen drives the ball into the stumps at the bowler's end, and the non-striker is out of his ground. The non-striker isn't out unless the fielding team intervened with the ball on it's way somehow.

    The only way I could see the guy given out would perhaps be via some archaic "interference" law, where he kicked the ball when a fielder was reaching for it (the fact that it hit the stumps probably wouldn't matter though, just that he kicked it away).

    I can't really see how it could be given out, outside of that. Hit wicket isn't possible after the natural completion of your shot, rather than your run. So I'd say not out - I have a feeling you're gonna say it's out though, 'cause otherwise, it seems obvious.


  5. #5
    State Regular Bouncer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    A51
    Posts
    905
    SL, your answer makes more sense. Here is one thread i am checking back tomorrow morning...gotta sleep now.

  6. #6
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,171
    Once the bowl becomes dead then it cant be a hit wicket and while no filder didnt touch it so its no even a run out .
    Proud member of Twenty20-Is-Boring Society.
    T2IBS Media relations officer
    T2IBS official face
    R.I..P ........ Fardin Qayuumi
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard View Post
    Good luck at the hospital.
    Quote Originally Posted by GeraintIsMyHero View Post
    Fraz is always the best option IMO
    frazbest@hotmail.com

  7. #7
    State Vice-Captain The Argonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    1,351
    I agree with the earlier posts that the only way it could be given out is if there was interference with a fielder going for the ball when the batsman kicked it. The result could be obstructing the field. I think Len Hutton is the only guy to be given out in this manner in the history of test cricket.

  8. #8
    Hall of Fame Member age_master's Avatar
    Plasmanaut on Fire Champion!
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    15,777
    shes stupid :P


    but isn't she bowled....


    i thought it would be just like playing on
    Member of CW Green
    Kerry O'Keefe - Worlds funniest Commentator

  9. #9
    Cricketer Of The Year SirBloody Idiot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Moving the hole in the o-zone layer
    Posts
    8,638
    If I read correctly, the batsman managed to kick it onto his own stumps.

    Since no fielder touched it, wouldn't it be bowled, or playing it on?

    It's the same as having a shot, it hitting your pad and going onto the stumps or did I read this wrong...

  10. #10
    Global Moderator Prince EWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Cribbertopia
    Posts
    57,598
    Yes. Out. Bowled.
    Rejecting 'analysis by checklist' and 'skill absolutism' since Dec '09
    'Stats' is not a synonym for 'Career Test Averages'


    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffrey Tucker
    Someone asked me the other day if I believe in conspiracies. Well, sure. Here's one. It is called the political system. It is nothing if not a giant conspiracy to rob, trick and subjugate the population.
    Before replying to TJB, always remember:
    Quote Originally Posted by TheJediBrah View Post
    Next week I'll probably be arguing the opposite

    Code:
    Pixie Caramels won by an Innings and 258 runs.

  11. #11
    International Debutant
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    2,424
    The batsman's not out.
    1.He is not out bowled because he kicked the ball onto the stumps after he'd completed his stroke.
    2.even if he was out of his crease he wasnt runout since no fielder has touched the ball.

  12. #12
    Cricketer Of The Year Adamc's Avatar
    Chicken Champion! Battle Pong Champion!
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in the wind, so to speak
    Posts
    9,128
    Ok, another question. Say a batsman edges the ball and is caught by a fielder, the umpire says not out, but the batsman walks anyway (e.g. Adam Gilchrist in WC). Even after the batsman walks, the umpire still doesn't raise his finger or indicate that the batsman is out. Shouldn't he technically be on the scoresheet as 'Retired Out' instead of 'Caught'?
    "Under the spreading chestnut tree,
    I sold you and you sold me."

  13. #13
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,171
    Originally posted by Adamc
    Ok, another question. Say a batsman edges the ball and is caught by a fielder, the umpire says not out, but the batsman walks anyway (e.g. Adam Gilchrist in WC). Even after the batsman walks, the umpire still doesn't raise his finger or indicate that the batsman is out. Shouldn't he technically be on the scoresheet as 'Retired Out' instead of 'Caught'?
    LOLOL
    NO

  14. #14
    Cricketer Of The Year Adamc's Avatar
    Chicken Champion! Battle Pong Champion!
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    in the wind, so to speak
    Posts
    9,128
    Originally posted by FRAZ
    LOLOL
    NO
    Why not? It is the umpires job to decide if a player is out and how he is out. If the umpire deems him to not be out, then 'Retired Out' is the only other option.

  15. #15
    Hall of Fame Member age_master's Avatar
    Plasmanaut on Fire Champion!
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    15,777
    Originally posted by Adamc
    Why not? It is the umpires job to decide if a player is out and how he is out. If the umpire deems him to not be out, then 'Retired Out' is the only other option.

    doesn't matter, hes still out

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •