• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Help needed from cricket lovers (and players)

crickettragic

Cricket Spectator
Hi all,

I am a student currently studying at college, and in case you couldn’t tell by my username I am a bit cricket mad. I was wondering if anyone out there in this forum could help me with a cricket project I am doing as part of a course.

I am currently doing an Extended Project Qualification, in which I have to write an essay on a topic, and I need some first hand research so I thought there would be no place better to ask than a forum dedicated to cricket ☺

My essay is on burnout/mental fatigue within cricketers, why it occurs and how it can be prevented. Through this I’m trying to cover a wide range of cases, (from a Trott to Trescothick ) and other cases from all forms of cricket. I have prepared some questions you could answer below if you want to help, or alternatively you could leave any other thoughts you have.

• What do you think the main cause for burnout is?
• What are the key symptoms of burnout?
• Have you ever suffered from a form of mental fatigue within the game, or know anyone who has?
• Can you think of any more lesser well known case studies I could use?
• Do you think burn out is completely curable (and if so, any ideas how)?
• Do you have any thoughts on the best ways to prevent burnout?
• Do you think burnout occurs in some form to every player, or just to a certain few?