Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 73
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: *Official* Pakistan v Australia in UAE 2014

  1. #1
    International Coach morgieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dishing out broken ****ing floggings
    Posts
    11,100

    *Official* Pakistan v Australia in UAE 2014

    Squads for the tour have been announced, so I'm putting this up despite the tour being nearly a month away.

    Sun Oct 5 (20 ovs)
    16:00 GMT | 20:00 local
    00:00 AWST +1d | 01:30 ACST +1d | 03:00 AEDT +1d Only T20I - Pakistan v Australia
    Dubai International Cricket Stadium

    Tue Oct 7 (50 ovs)
    11:00 GMT | 15:00 local
    19:00 AWST | 21:30 ACDT | 22:00 AEDT 1st ODI - Pakistan v Australia
    Sharjah Cricket Stadium

    Fri Oct 10 (50 ovs)
    11:00 GMT | 15:00 local
    19:00 AWST | 21:30 ACDT | 22:00 AEDT 2nd ODI - Pakistan v Australia
    Dubai International Cricket Stadium
    N/A
    Sun Oct 12 (50 ovs)
    11:00 GMT | 15:00 local
    19:00 AWST | 21:30 ACDT | 22:00 AEDT 3rd ODI - Pakistan v Australia
    Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

    Wed Oct 15 - Sat Oct 18
    06:00 GMT | 10:00 local
    14:00 AWST | 16:30 ACDT | 17:00 AEDT Pakistan A v Australians
    Sharjah Cricket Stadium

    Wed Oct 22 - Sun Oct 26
    06:00 GMT | 10:00 local
    14:00 AWST | 16:30 ACDT | 17:00 AEDT 1st Test - Pakistan v Australia
    Dubai International Cricket Stadium

    Thu Oct 30 - Mon Nov 3
    06:00 GMT | 10:00 local
    14:00 AWST | 16:30 ACDT | 17:00 AEDT 2nd Test - Pakistan v Australia
    Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

    Squads for the tour:

    Test squad: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Alex Doolan, Michael Clarke (capt), Steven Smith, Shane Watson, Phillip Hughes, Brad Haddin, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Johnson, Steve O'Keefe, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon.
    ODI squad: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey, Steven Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon.
    T20 squad: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson, Cameron Boyce.

    What did Hughes do to get dropped for the limited overs sides? And why are there so few bowlers in the Test/ODI squads?
    5-0

    RIP Craig Walsh (Craig) 1985-2012

    Proudly supporting the #2 cricketer of all time.

  2. #2
    International Vice-Captain Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,761
    Seems likely that O'Keefe will debut in test cricket considering he's in the squad. Seeing as he's taken truckloads of domestic wickets but never been selected for a test, I imagine he'll play over there. Is it likely we'll go two quicks, two spinners (Lyon and O'Keefe) and an all rounder (Watson or MMarsh)?

    Guessing Hughes was dropped from the ODI squad because Warner is returning.

    The ODI side has Watson, MMarsh, Faulkner, Abbott, MJ, Starc and Lyon, plus Maxwell, Clarke and Smith as bowling options and the T20 squad has Watson, Maxwell, MMarsh, Faulkner, Abbott, Starc, Cummins, Richardson and Boyce....so it seems there's enough options....

    Abbott the bolter here, inne?

  3. #3
    International Coach morgieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dishing out broken ****ing floggings
    Posts
    11,100
    Quote Originally Posted by Monk View Post
    Seems likely that O'Keefe will debut in test cricket considering he's in the squad. Seeing as he's taken truckloads of domestic wickets but never been selected for a test, I imagine he'll play over there. Is it likely we'll go two quicks, two spinners (Lyon and O'Keefe) and an all rounder (Watson or MMarsh)?

    Guessing Hughes was dropped from the ODI squad because Warner is returning.

    The ODI side has Watson, MMarsh, Faulkner, Abbott, MJ, Starc and Lyon, plus Maxwell, Clarke and Smith as bowling options and the T20 squad has Watson, Maxwell, MMarsh, Faulkner, Abbott, Starc, Cummins, Richardson and Boyce....so it seems there's enough options....

    Abbott the bolter here, inne?
    T20 has plenty. But only 3-4 specialist bowlers in the ODI squad seems a tad light.

  4. #4
    Cricketer Of The Year Cabinet96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    9,686
    There's only three specialist seamers in the test squad as well, so if there's an injury or someone gets dropped it'll be two spinners or Marsh at 8. I guess it's probably not guaranteed that Starc will play anyway, so they could go two spinners from the start.
    Quote Originally Posted by Flem274* View Post
    This English top three are cornflakes. They're not the most exciting thing out but they're pretty effective. Then the middle order are the sugar. Would be too much on their own but added to the cornflakes they add some much needed interest

    When KP returns he will be the banana..


  5. #5
    International Debutant dermo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,681
    i think its safe to say i'm surprised by sean abbott's selection
    andyc likes this.
    Quote Originally Posted by benchmark00 View Post
    Dean Jones was my favourite player.

  6. #6
    International Debutant adub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,864
    I'm thinking Doolers might be in a bit of bother.

    Wouldn't surprise me at all to see us select any two out of Watson (who will be a cert if fit), Hughes, Marsh, and Maxwell in the top 6. Not saying I agree with it necessarily, but I can see it happening.

    (I can also easily see O'Keefe going over and doing nothing but serving drinks and bowling in the nets with Lyon and Maxwell playing both tests)

  7. #7
    Hall of Fame Member NUFAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marrickville
    Posts
    18,085
    Demo Abbott!

    Mark Waughs selection reign has officially started.
    adub and uvelocity like this.

  8. #8
    International Debutant Adders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    HMP Oz.
    Posts
    2,420
    No Ryan Harris in the test squad.......did he finally break?

  9. #9
    International Vice-Captain Riggins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Get ready for a broken ****ing arm.
    Posts
    4,493
    had knee surgery straight after the SA series. Meant to be back for the India series.
    The sort of general malaise that only the genius possess and the insane lament.

  10. #10
    International Vice-Captain Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,761
    Good to see medium pacers getting a go. Gives me hope for myself.

  11. #11
    You'll Never Walk Alone Nate's Avatar
    Bowling tgfg Champion! Carmageddon Champion! Rainman Champion! DTunnel Champion!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New South Wales
    Posts
    26,978
    FINALLY z
    andyc likes this.
    Jesus saves

    proudly supporting Liverpool FC

  12. #12
    Virat Kohli (c) Jono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    55,030
    This tour is called the "VB tour of UAE".

    Couldn't write this stuff.
    "I am very happy and it will allow me to have lot more rice."

    Eoin Morgan on being given a rice cooker for being Man of the Match in a Dhaka Premier Division game.

  13. #13
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Spikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    All Glory To The Nev
    Posts
    32,786
    Quote Originally Posted by dermo View Post
    i think its safe to say i'm surprised by sean abbott's selection
    his name is dermo abbott, dickface
    Indians can't bowl - Where has the rumour come from as I myself and many indian friends arwe competent fast bowlers ?

    With the English bid I said: Let us be brief. If you give back the Falkland Islands, which belong to us, you will get my vote. They then became sad and left

  14. #14
    International Coach uvelocity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    seamy road
    Posts
    11,786
    Quote Originally Posted by Jono View Post
    This tour is called the "VB tour of UAE".

    Couldn't write this stuff.
    pretty sure you just did bud

    and i agree stone and wood tour of uae would be preferrable
    Quote Originally Posted by sledger View Post
    I just love all kinds of balls.

  15. #15
    International Debutant dermo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,681
    if henriques isnt broken i dont see how he isnt a better version of abbott

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 4 users browsing this thread. (1 members and 3 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 394
    Last Post: 08-09-2014, 11:13 AM
  2. *Official* Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2014
    By James in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 726
    Last Post: 30-08-2014, 06:55 PM
  3. *Official* Pakistan in Australia
    By James in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 5219
    Last Post: 23-05-2011, 08:02 PM
  4. ***Official*** Australia vs Pakistan in UAE
    By howardj in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 662
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 07:07 AM
  5. ***Official*** Australia 'A' in Pakistan
    By howardj in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 175
    Last Post: 28-09-2005, 01:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •