Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Questions about rules.

  1. #1
    International Vice-Captain Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,399

    Questions about rules.

    A thread to discuss rules.

    Here is the situation. A batsman hits to the deep. He and his partner run a single. The fields-man collects the ball and throws to the keeper's end. As the ball travels in, the keeper accidentally knocks both bails off with his gloves. A split second later, the throw hits the stumps and knocks one stump completely out of the ground, while the batsman is still short of his ground.

    Should the batsman be out, or not out?

  2. #2
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Out.
    Parmi | #1 draft pick | Jake King is **** | Big Bash League tipping champion of the universe
    Come and Paint Turtle
    Quote Originally Posted by Jono View Post
    Kohli. Do something in test cricket for once please.

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    International Vice-Captain Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,399
    Quote Originally Posted by benchmark00 View Post
    Out.
    Can you say why? As I understand the rule, if the wicket is broken and the bails are off, the keeper or a fields-man has to remove a bail with the ball in hand. However, in this instance the stump was actually knocked out of the ground by the throw after the bails had been knocked off.

    This happened in a lower grade self umpired game and the central umpire overruled the square legs call of out, and there was some heated debate. No one knew the actual rule here though…

  4. #4
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    The rule is that if the bails are removed, the stump has to be removed from the ground, either by the fielder pulling the stump out of the ground with ball in hand or the ball removing the stump completely from the ground.


  5. #5
    International Coach uvelocity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    seamy road
    Posts
    11,634
    yep
    Quote Originally Posted by sledger View Post
    I just love all kinds of balls.

  6. #6
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Which team were you on Monky? Batting or bowling?

  7. #7
    International Vice-Captain Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,399
    Quote Originally Posted by benchmark00 View Post
    Which team were you on Monky? Batting or bowling?
    Fielding team. We won the game (just) but I think there might have been some issues had we lost.

    So, the fielder's throw removed the stump, meaning it was out, but if it hadn't have come out (and just leant over) the correct ruling would've been not out?

    Cricket's a funny game. I've played a fair few games in my life and there's always something new cropping up! I'd never seen this situation before!

  8. #8
    International Vice-Captain Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,399
    Quote Originally Posted by Monk View Post
    Can you say why? As I understand the rule, if the wicket is broken and the bails are off, the keeper or a fields-man has to remove a bail with the ball in hand. However, in this instance the stump was actually knocked out of the ground by the throw after the bails had been knocked off.

    This happened in a lower grade self umpired game and the central umpire overruled the square legs call of out, and there was some heated debate. No one knew the actual rule here though…
    Sorry, meant stump in that post...

  9. #9
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Spikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    All Glory To The Nev
    Posts
    32,494
    Quote Originally Posted by Monk View Post
    Can you say why? As I understand the rule, if the wicket is broken and the bails are off, the keeper or a fields-man has to remove a bail with the ball in hand. However, in this instance the stump was actually knocked out of the ground by the throw after the bails had been knocked off.

    This happened in a lower grade self umpired game and the central umpire overruled the square legs call of out, and there was some heated debate. No one knew the actual rule here though…
    never heard that.
    Indians can't bowl - Where has the rumour come from as I myself and many indian friends arwe competent fast bowlers ?

    With the English bid I said: Let us be brief. If you give back the Falkland Islands, which belong to us, you will get my vote. They then became sad and left

  10. #10
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Monk View Post
    Fielding team. We won the game (just) but I think there might have been some issues had we lost.

    So, the fielder's throw removed the stump, meaning it was out, but if it hadn't have come out (and just leant over) the correct ruling would've been not out?

    Cricket's a funny game. I've played a fair few games in my life and there's always something new cropping up! I'd never seen this situation before!
    Yeah that's right, needs to be removed from the ground.

    A rule I didn't know until it happened to me in a match about four years ago now was the dead ball off a helmet rule.

    I was facing a spinner, it was short and I flogged a pull shot into the head of the short leg fielder (who was wearing a lid), it popped up and was caught at square leg. I started walking off and was called back by the ump because it's a dead ball and couldn't be caught off the helmet.

    Always wondered what would have happened if it went for four off the helmet.

    Was lucky we had state level umps who know what was going on otherwise I wouldn't have been called back no doubt.

  11. #11
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Spikey View Post
    never heard that.
    He meant stump, not bail.

    Edit: as I see he has pointed out.

  12. #12
    International Coach uvelocity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    seamy road
    Posts
    11,634
    it would be 4 off the helmet, just cant be caught

  13. #13
    Dan
    Dan is offline
    Global Moderator / Cricket Web Staff Member Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    A small planet somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse
    Posts
    6,098
    Alright, one that happened to me on the weekend.

    I'm batting and all of a sudden my glasses decide to fall apart - can't get the lens back in so can't really continue batting as normal (not being able to see and all). I have to leave the field.

    Am I retired not out/retired hurt or retired out? Is the glasses breaking comparable to an injury in this circumstance? Or is it like a bat or helmet breaking - replace it and get on with it, or deal without it?

  14. #14
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Probably misses his old glasses.

  15. #15
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Spikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    All Glory To The Nev
    Posts
    32,494
    Quote Originally Posted by benchmark00 View Post
    He meant stump, not bail.

    Edit: as I see he has pointed out.
    thought i deleted that post tbh

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rules questions
    By Lenzar in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2012, 06:46 PM
  2. Two Questions
    By Sanz in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 05-06-2010, 04:40 PM
  3. New Rules Gentlemen New Rules. . .
    By SJS in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 28-12-2009, 02:47 AM
  4. Questions... Questions That Need Answering
    By Stuartp in forum Fantasy Cricket
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-10-2006, 10:45 AM
  5. Questions...
    By R_Powell_fan in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24-11-2002, 02:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •