• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

I have some Cricket questions:

Shane1988

Cricket Spectator
Hi guys,

For starters, I must politely ask that this thread not be moved to a different, less-active forum because it is quite important that I receive some feedback on this.

I write about sports for a living, but for the first time in my life I'll be writing about cricket in less than 36 hours and, quite honestly, I know absolutely NOTHING about the sport. It is currently 02:14 am at my current location and I will be writing about tomorrow's Ashes test between England and Australia.

Right now, the score is Australia 570 - 117-4 England. Does this mean that Australia have scored 570 runs, and England have scored 117 so far from their four of 11 batsman?

Also, is this the score for this particular test or the whole series? England, according to my television, trail by 453 (runs?) so, as I said, is this is the deficit for the test or the series?

If you could answer these couple of questions I would REALLY appreciate it.

Thank you.

Daemon

Request Your Custom Title Now!
117-4 means England have scored 117 for the loss of 4 batsmen. It's the total number of runs scored by the 4 batsmen that got out as well as the two out in the middle (plus extras like wides and no balls of course).

The 453 is the deficit for the match.

Shane1988

Cricket Spectator
No thank you, mate.