in an ideal world it should be tackle cricket anyway
In the OPs situation - no problem, batsmen's own fault.
In the Elliot/Sidebottom situation - correct decision made. It was a 'racing incident'. Sidebottom was fully entitled to take that line to get the ball and made no wilful attempt to impede the batsman. An interesting point, however, is the running line taken by Elliot. In good Club cricket (which I umpire) the batsman almost always runs down the opposite side of the pitch to the non striker (to avoid possible collisions) - this should be even more common practice higher up the game. However, it is a neat trick used by some batsman to drop the ball close to the bat and take a line to 'run the bowler off' - I would suggest Elliott was doing this. Certain subtle recent changes to the Obstructing the Field Law might cause a question for an umpire in this situation
In the Bell situation - although technically under the Laws it was a run out the fact that many of the Indian players clearly thought there was no further action on the delivery and, perhaps more importantly, the bowlers end umpire was giving the sweater back to the bowler (although they might take it of their own accord I would not offer it until I was content that all worthwhile action on the delivery was complete) indicates that, possibly, the strikers umpire, might have decided differently. Ironically the day before this happened I had a moment in the match I was umpiring. A single had been taken, the cover fielder chased down the ball and, as there was no serious thought on either side regarding a 2nd run, he threw the ball to mid off the batsman at my (the bowler's) end decided to do a little gardening. Mid off shaped to throw at the stumps and looked at me. I shook my head. Although technically under the Law the ball wasn't dead in all common sense it was - and the fielder fully accepted this.
In the Murali situation the problem was Murali set off very quickly to congratulate the batsman. The fielder could reasonably have thought a run was being attempted. Had Murali waited even a couple of seconds I suspect the umpire may have disallowed the appeal.
Last edited by Biryani Pillow; 30-05-2013 at 07:46 AM.
It could well be that Elliott was running the line he usually runs, but because Sidebottom is a left armer, that line happened to be on the same side as his partner.
WWCC - Loyaulte Mi Lie
"People make me happy.. not places.. people"
"When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life." - Samuel Johnson
"Oh my God, there's a castle! A castle!"
If I only just posted the above post, please wait 5 mins before replying as there is bound to be edits
West Robham Rabid Wolves Caedere lemma quod eat lemma
Happy Birthday! (easier than using Birthday threads)
Email and MSN- Goughy at cricketmail dot net
Had another situation today. Starting to think I'm going soft.
Ball played out to cover (I think) and batsmen call no. Ball is then thrown back to mid off who notices that the batsman is a fraction (unintentionally) outside his crease, jogs in and knocks the bails off. Umpire gives him out and my team (U12s) celebrate. Cue moral quandary on my part and a gut instinct that it didn't feel right, before deciding we should recall the batsman... probably influenced by the fact that I was fairly sure the match was as good as won.
I've also refused to accept penalty runs in a close match this season on the grounds that it was U10 cricket...
I've had an interesting summer.
MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?
Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC
Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog
I think I've played against your u15 team
Originally Posted by zaremba
Accidental Founder of the Fawad Alam Appreciation Society!
Slowfinger - An active member of CricketWeb for 5 years and counting!
What's everyones take on Tony Greig/Alvin Karricharan?
Tony Greig - Alvin Kallicharran - Run Out - February 1974 - YouTube
To me it is a run out, because Karricharan has been dopey and not waited for the bails to come off before walking off.
Last edited by 91Jmay; 22-08-2013 at 09:58 PM.
Doesn't really help that Knott has already pulled all three stumps out of the ground by then. Definitely a bit iffy.
Celebrating the defining moments of CW:
JMAS- What a guy
Have you been tested?
In memory of Fardin Qayyumi, a true legend of CW
I collided with long off last weekend when we were both going for the ball that was between us (I was fielding at long on). I stopped the ball but we both went to ground. The batsmen continued to run between the wickets whilst we were on the floor (granted it was only an extra run but they took it). Why should batsmen benefit when fielders make mistakes but the bowling side can't when batters slip?
And on the guys original point. I play hard Cricket myself but when I run my junior teams its a different kettle of fish. I would rather the lads had a good time than be accused of being cheats or playing the game in the wrong way. When I'm bowling and fielding I'm not bothered what they call me.
Appreciate Swanneh For The Genius He Is.
Bore off, seriously.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)